We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$132
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Elena Hostel Resort(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$44
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveler rating
862
242
37
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
242
37
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis brotherpancakessabor ticocosta ricathe ownerwooden furniturefruitsoccer fieldgreat place to stayevery morningcloud forestbreakfast was deliciousla fortunadowntown santa elenarooms are basicthin wallsnight hike
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights from Jan 1 - 4 with 4 people in three rooms. The rooms are excellent, spacious and with exceptional wooden furniture. Great breakfast is served already before 7:00. In case you want to start for a tour early in the morning they won't let you start without it. The lodge is run by Jose Badilla and family. It is an excellent, very friendly team and alwas supportive. Definitely I can recommend the lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans-Gerd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Jose makes you fell at home the moment you arrive. He will go out of his way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms itself is very basic, very clean, and rustic- hence the rustic lodge. The location of this place is great, it's about a 10 stroll to town of Santa Elena. Cute town with the basics. Eat at Sabor Tico, it's awesome and very affordable. It's literally a minute walk from the rustic lodge. breakfast at the lodge is coffee, fruit plate, and something hot- we had eggs one day, pancakes the next. This hotel is a great value and Jose is Awesome!! Also a plus, free wifi in the lodge

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRVLGAL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room 4. Very nice room for the money. Clean and a great bathroom. The owners weve very helpful answering all our questions about the area and gave us some tips on places to eat. One place was Sabor Tico, we had the best meal and probably the most reasonably priced food in all of Costa Rica. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Excellent value, excellent staff (nothing is too much trouble for Jose, ask him for the tea made out of the flowers in the garden) and a loveley, huge and incredibly clean and pretty room. We even saw a sloth when we were there. Can also recommend the massage!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad one!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The lodge is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfasts are fantastic (fabulous fresh fruit and a full breakfast every morning), the best coffee we had in the whole country, and to top it off, a warm and welcoming staff. Jose is incredibly pleasant and helps in any way he can. The other staff are also great. It was a perfect home base for the day and night excursions to the forests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews