We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Jose is the best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Rustic Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay - Jose is the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We recently stayed here passing through Arenal to Samara. Jose was WONDERFUL and was by far the best host we had all trip. He really made the stay special there. The hotel was an EXCELLENT value - I wasnt expecting too much - but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were good sized, although the bathroom was small - but plenty of warm water. He had many suggestions on where to go for food as well as activities. We went to the Sabor Tica down the street that he recommended and it was easily the BEST typical food we had all of our trip. Don't miss the guanabana and papaya milkshakes for less than $2! I highly recommend this hotel. Thanks again Jose for making our stay wonderful here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    215
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
251
525
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights from Jan 1 - 4 with 4 people in three rooms. The rooms are excellent, spacious and with exceptional wooden furniture. Great breakfast is served already before 7:00. In case you want to start for a tour early in the morning they won't let you start without it. The lodge is run by Jose Badilla and family. It is an excellent, very friendly team and alwas supportive. Definitely I can recommend the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Gerd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keego Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Jose makes you fell at home the moment you arrive. He will go out of his way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms itself is very basic, very clean, and rustic- hence the rustic lodge. The location of this place is great, it's about a 10 stroll to town of Santa Elena. Cute town with the basics. Eat at Sabor Tico, it's awesome and very affordable. It's literally a minute walk from the rustic lodge. breakfast at the lodge is coffee, fruit plate, and something hot- we had eggs one day, pancakes the next. This hotel is a great value and Jose is Awesome!! Also a plus, free wifi in the lodge

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRVLGAL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room 4. Very nice room for the money. Clean and a great bathroom. The owners weve very helpful answering all our questions about the area and gave us some tips on places to eat. One place was Sabor Tico, we had the best meal and probably the most reasonably priced food in all of Costa Rica. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Excellent value, excellent staff (nothing is too much trouble for Jose, ask him for the tea made out of the flowers in the garden) and a loveley, huge and incredibly clean and pretty room. We even saw a sloth when we were there. Can also recommend the massage!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The lodge is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfasts are fantastic (fabulous fresh fruit and a full breakfast every morning), the best coffee we had in the whole country, and to top it off, a warm and welcoming staff. Jose is incredibly pleasant and helps in any way he can. The other staff are also great. It was a perfect home base for the day and night excursions to the forests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. It was the best value of our trip. Reasonably priced,spotless rooms,and someone who could be the nicest man on earth as the innkeeper. Jose is great. He never gave us a wrong suggestion on where to eat or on a guided trip. He made reservations for us. This place is a great find...and he has many signs in the Monteverde area that help you locate the lodge. Our room in the front of the lodge had a great bathroom.

Room Tip: The second floor room in front has a great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Property: Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing