We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Nearby Hotels
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconia Hotel(Monteverde)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
207
254
206
80
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
254
206
80
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubswim up barcosta ricaeco friendly hotelhotel restaurantgrocery storeno air conditioningsmall hotelhanging bridgescloud forestin townsmall towncoffee makerstayed two nightszip liningpura vidatoast
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 783 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Poco a Poco is a small hotel with big charm. The unassuming buildings melt into the hillside as if they are part of the landscape. We spent two nights during out 14 day fly and drive adventure that took us to all areas of Costa Rica. The hotel was a welcome respite. We started day one with a refreshing dip and drink at the swim up bar. Next was the giant jacuzzi tub that fits 20. Then we finished off the afternoon with a spa special- 2 for 1 relaxing massage. The full service spa is wonderful. Next, we retreated to our room. A little small but nicely furnished with a comfortable bed. The hotel practices sustainable tourism and reminders of this can be found in the all natural bath products made in the area. The restaurant is again, wonderful. The food, entertainment and service was awesome but the icing or should I say flambe, took the cake. Perfect ending to a perfect day. I left this hotel a new person.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is a great place, recommended to us by staff at Arenal Lodge. It's near all the attractions. Only downside is the safe is too small to put a laptop.
"Morphos" is a must for lunch of dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Great stay at Poco a Poco. Our only regret was that we didn't spend more time in Monteverde. Willfreddy (manager I believe) is extremely helpful, speaks great english, and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable even though we were there for only one night.

The facilities are great and while we didn't spend that much time at the hotel, the pool, location, and spa looked great. We did a night walk at the Cloud Forest school. The front desk set up the tour and it was wonderful. We saw plently of animals and I would highly recommend it. Also, we went zip lining with Sky Trek which was a great experience. If you're going to or from Arenal, definitely take the Jeep-Boat-Jeep. The roads were rough (like everywhere in Costa Rica), but it is a big time saver you get to see a ton of great scenary.

Overall, Poco a Poco is a great hotel at the very reasonable price.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank edwhat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Pros - the staff in the restaurant are phenomenal!! The waiters, bartenders, and house musicians are so friendly and gracious. They truly made us love staying here. They made the best mixed drinks. The decks and pool area are beautiful. If it wasn't so cold while we were there, we would have enjoyed it. Beautiful sunsets!!

Cons - While the main building and restaurant is new and "green", the building with the hotel rooms is not new and is rather older. Unfortunately, it was cold while we were there and there is no heat. Things (windows, doors) seem to be a little loose and get knocked around a lot with wind (and it can be pretty windy).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coliver73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review. weare very glad to see such a detailed review, It is very helpful for us and for us and for all readers.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I'm not one to have trouble with noise, but ambien and ear plugs aren't enough to drown out the awful band playing in the lobby and the street noise. One comes to a place like Monteverde for exposure to nature and beauty. This feels like spring break. Other reviews complain about the noise from the rain, but I don't mind that at all. It's the lounge singer that has me praying for a power outage. The people are very nice and I have to admit that it's the best bed I've slept in in Costa Rica, but a noisy hotel in a place like this is insufferable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ziller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service they expect, and sadly, there are not second chances for a first impression.
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make things better next time.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews