We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$34
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
$46
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Elena Hostel Resort(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$54
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$45
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveler rating
222
261
209
80
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
261
209
80
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubswim up barcosta ricaeco friendly hotelmetal roofhotel restaurantgrocery storehanging bridgeswelcome drinksmall hotelno air conditioningcloud forestin townfrog pondsmall towncoffee makerstayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 808 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Was very disappointed in the size and quality of rooms. The rooms are very small, by any standard-barely any room to move. A coffee maker was provided with no access to any power plugs to be able to use it. Noisy, no a/c, no fans provided.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preeti15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service they expect, and sadly, there are not second chances for a first impression.
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make things better next time.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

On a recent trip to CR, we accidentally booked an extra night at Poco A Poco. Even though Expedia's contract stated that we would not receive a refund, the management at Poco a Poco decided to give us back the money for the additional night we had booked. We couldn't believe their kindness.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mcdonops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Mr MC, we always try to help and assist our guests in any way possible, we are very glad we could sort this out and Expedia has always been a very good partner as well,
thank you for ypur comments and it is pur pleasure to help.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We hate giving bad reviews, because it is clear when you see certain folks try to help you, or really seem to care that you are staying at their hotel (I.e., Jonathan made us feel so welcome, but that is as far as it went). Bugs in the room, no screens, no a/c, food for breakfast was average, not yummy. But the worst for us: the noise! We were in the room right next to the maids closet, and at the end of a long outdoor hall (think it was 2nd floor), and there is no way we could sleep in at our leisure. The chit chat about their assignments, etc., and the dropping of their buckets in the floor, well, just dont plan on sleeping in until, lets say 9am!!!! There was a storm the night we were there, power kept blinking out, to be expected.... But also, during the day, construction noise, painting going on in common areas, it just seemed like a hotel "in progress" not completed and ready for guests. Our standards are not very high, we get that we were in Costa Rica, not Dubai, but it is about the little common sense things (a/c, screens in windows, noise prevention) that could make it so much more pleasurable. The price did not reflect a "get what you pay for" either. Charging that much for a night, and with these irritants, just could have been a much better stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service they expect, and sadly, there are not second chances for a first impression.
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make things better next time.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Rooms do not have ac.

Rooms are small.

Breakfast is very average.

However, the rooms were updated and bathrooms were nice.

Overall, very average.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, we try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make this better next time.
thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, and weren't impressed. It looks like a nice place on the surface, but once you get to your room it is a different story. We were in room 45. Our first night went a little something like this...no A/C (expected), so we opened the windows. Somehow our room didn't have screens on the windows and within minutes our room was swarmed with tons of bugs. Fine, close the windows. Midnight rolls around....fire alarm goes off, then stops 30 minutes later. Then goes off again at 1am until 2am. The next day we complained to management about both issues, and their response was "there was nothing we could do". We requested a room change, and they were at least willing to do that. They moved us to room 22, which was MUCH nicer than the original one we were in, had screens on windows and a ceiling fan. At this point, the manager did apologize, and rectified the situation with a refund for the first night.

The food was okay, but seemed over priced.

If you stay here, be sure to preview your room (or request one in the newer section) - but I would recommend staying elsewhere. I wasn't impressed and won't be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, we try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make this better next time.
thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews