We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$45
$20
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
207
254
206
80
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
254
206
80
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubswim up barcosta ricaeco friendly hotelhotel restaurantgrocery storeno air conditioningsmall hotelhanging bridgescloud forestin townsmall towncoffee makerstayed two nightszip liningpura vidatoast
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 783 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I chose this hotel because it was the only one in town with a pool and a Jacuzzi. I was expecting a basic hotel and was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The staff spoke perfect English and were extremely helpful. They set up several excursions for us and arranged the transportation. They made several recommendations and they were all spot on. The office had many brochures on the local attractions which was quite helpful.

The rooms had free wifi.

The pool and Jacuzzi were both outdoors with beautiful views of the mountains. The pool is heated and has a bar open during the day.

The restaurant had wonderful food prepared by a chef and there was a delicious breakfast buffet included daily.

The location is within walking distance of the small town of Santa Elena which has many small stores for shopping and several small restaurants.

I didn't realize this when looking for a hotel but many of the other hotels are located on dirt roads outside of town which would not be pleasant for walking due to the clouds of dust from passing taxis and cars and they are too far out of town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownrexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We paid around $100 for one night. The lobby, restaurant, and pool are the nicest things here. The rooms are very small and simple but what would you expect for $100 a night.

The hotel is on a "main Street" so there is some noise while you are trying to sleep. Usually in the form of a truck, bus, or motorcycle. The one night we were there the winds were howling and the balcony of our room must have created a noise vacuum. I eventually got to sleep.

We did wake up to a nice rainbow though.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank araya03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service they expect, and sadly, there are not second chances for a first impression.
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make things better next time.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Absolutely beautiful place with friendly staff, great location in Santa Elena and hotel amenities that were just what the doctor ordered. The restaurant had great food, the pool was very clean and the view was perfect. There is a spa there and the manager is a very nice person and the masseuse did a great job. If you are in to Canopy or as we call it Zip lines, try the Extremo. It was the most fun I have ever had. Wed will definitely go back to this particular hotel. I can only say go into town to arrange your tours, the hotel may not provide the best advice about where to go.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackbelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

As others have said, this hotel is one of the best options in the Santa Elena area. We enjoyed our three nights here during our recent Costa Rica vacation and any gripes we had about the room (no closet, rustic furnishings etc.) were more than made up for by the very attentive and friendly staff, the outstanding restaurant and the well-maintained pool and hot tub (the hot tub, like the rest of the hotel, is "green" and not overly hot, but if you ask, they will turn it up).

Others have mentioned the young musician, Josue, who is local. I spent quit a bit of time talking with him and once you hear him sing and play guitar and keyboard, you'll be amazed to learn that he's only been playing 4 years.

As an example of the level of service: after we checked out of Poco a Poco and made our way to Manuel Antonio 4 hours away, my wife realized she had left a brand new pair of travel pants hanging in the cabinet at Poco a Poco. Well, one email to the staff at Poco a Poco, my wife's pants were sent back to our home in the US, at no charge. It may not seem like much, but to us, that gesture spoke volumes.

TIP: If looking for a place to eat off site while in Santa Elena, be sure to check out Johnny's Pizzeria. It's a $3 cab ride from the hotel and the very average sounding name belies the incredible ambiance, service and food which goes FAR beyond pizza (which is great by the way). It's the kind of night out that memories are made of!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here in Nov 2010. The journey to Monteverde is the adventure! The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is walking distance to town. Been to Monteverde and the Cloud Forest- amazing experience, but done that and have the t-shirt so its off the bucket list. It was fun, but the world is large so not planning on a trip back- it's very remote.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank honesty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2015

Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews