We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
234
89
38
21
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
89
38
21
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadvegetarian restaurantthe kitcheneggsthe ownercosta ricafree breakfastprivate roomother guestsin townhot watercommon roomfelt like homeevery morningstayed here for nightspollohostel
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 408 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Casa Tranquilo is a brilliant place. Its very clean and comfortable. The beds, unlike most hostels, are firm and comfortable. There is a great patio on the second floor with hammocks which is a great spot to drink and hang out. The internet is free and the hot water is hot. The owner is great and speaks english very well. The best hostel I have stayed at in Costa Rica. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WanderLustWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

the good:
-$20/night is an unbeatable price anywhere, even in CR, for a private room w/ private shower
-the shower itself is very nice, excellent hot water
-excellent location, in the heart of santa elena w/ many good restaurant options nearby
-free internet access in the common area
-good tour and restaurant advice from the owners and staff
-the owners will do your laundry!!! granted for like $5/load, but it's pretty convenient while on vacation...

the bad:
-there are indeed a lot of insects, including some large roaches, around, but duh... you're essentially staying in a rainforest

the expected:
-you're paying $20/night.... it would be unreasonable to expect 5-star lodgings at that price... you get a private room w/ private shower, but yes, there are bugs. and yes, the breakfast isn't anything to write home about, although the fresh fruit is nice. Casa Tranquilo is a good home-base for younger travelers who don't mind the noise of other nearby hostels, or those looking for inexpensive lodging so they can blow more money at what people come to costa rica for, the rainforests...

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Caso Tranquilo is a perfect place to stay if you want somewhere reasonably priced, clean, and close to everything in Monteverde. The owner, David, was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and the beds were pretty comfy. The water for showers was hot. The free breakfast consisted of cereal, a variety of fruits, juices, coffee, toast, and eggs that you could prepare on your own. I would recommend this place for any budget traveler who wants a safe, comfortable place to stay in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lindsadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

After reading a couple of positive reviews, my wife and I booked a room here for 2 nights in June. The hostel advertised a/c but the a/c was only turned on for about an hour after we first checked in and then it was turned off and remained so for the rest of our stay. The room stank and the bed stank even more. The sheets were threadbare and the room was crawling with roaches and other bugs. We found flying roaches in our bed and when we approached the manager about it, his reply was, "Welcome to the rainforest". The manager, David, appeared amaible at first and capable of speaking English, but it was soon apparent that he was rather arrogant and not very accomodating (as evidenced by his above-cited comment). Also, even though we paid a deposit on our room when booking it online, the manager changed the price of the room when we were checking out. Some friendly dogs live on the premises but they do bark and growl loudly all night. I've backpacked throughout Asia, Central and South America, Eastern/Western Europe, North America and Australia and this is certainly the worst stay I've experienced in any accomodations anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GotRilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

The Casa is at an often busy intersection, with a mechanics garage quite close, meaning that it's not exactly quiet. The rooms were adequate, but there were no safety deposit boxes available. The free breakfast was nothing to rave about and we actually went out and got breakfast. Within a 5 minute walk to Santa Elena and all the shops, restaurants and supermarkets. Very cheap - worth considering if you dont mind noise.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beaverface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews