We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very cute place (all in wood), kitchen to prepare your own meals, really good breakfast, nice staff and clean room. Close to the supermarket and the bus stop to go to the Monteverde reserve. One of the best deal in town !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManonBZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 396 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

A very nice charming little hostel. The room was clean and the location very convenient (Santa Elena is a very small town in either case). The owner David is just such a gem of a person. Friendly, helpful, calm. Breakfast was very good and the value for money was great. Would stay again and recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debaser1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile


Decent location, friendly owners & a great breakfast included.

Needs more attention to cleaning though. After 28hrs I had to ask for the shared bathroom to be cleaned as the overflowing bin was smelly. It was emptied but no other cleaning done.
For the same price we saw friends staying at better maintained places.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Hi,
We had an awesome stay at CT in Monteverde. We were welcomed by teh owner who speaks perfect english and spanish. We reserved a double room and a single room since we were 3 people but there were other guests hoping to get the double we reserved. David (owner) asked us kindly if we could maybe stay in a triple room so the others could have a double and everybody would be happy. Although we didn't plan on staying with 3 in one room (we are a couple and a friend) we had a great time and the room was lovely. Private bath was clean, room was light and the place felt like a chalet in Switserland or something. Good vibe!
Breakfast is very nice: fresh coffee, fresh made (the night before) banana bread, fresh fruit and eggs. Lovely and all made by David himself.
Yes, the computer is slow, yes, you hear the wind blow past your roomwindows sometimes, yes, the kitchen is not too big, but it all suits the place very well and contributes to an informal and laid back atmosphere.
Pura vida.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MGJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. It's a pretty place overlooking the hills -- just outside Santa Elena so a little quieter than being in town but just a 3-minute walk from the center of town and all its restaurants, shops, bars, etc. -- with a lovely sitting room and pleasant clean rooms. Affordable and pretty. The staff is very helpful and friendly -- they'll help you arrange tours and let you know how to get around the area. The room deals include very nice breakfasts -- eggs, banana bread, fresh fruit, coffee -- served in a bright breakfast room. There's even a very happy young golden retriever to help greet the guests. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Franz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for one night but it is actually the best option in the village. Please ask "chef" David for some banana cake!!!
They're so kind and sensible to service.. Little Gael is the owner mate.. Jeje .. Watch out your girls because he will make them fall in love with him.
Seriously, nice time here.. Quiet and safe.

Many thanks!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is the place to stay in Monteverde!!! Look no further. Don't make the mistake to simply drive by hoping to find a better place to stay in Monteverde, as there is not!!! This place is lovely, cozy, charming and extremely affordable. The owner David is the sweetest and most welcoming person my boyfriend and I met while vacationing in Costa Rica. He is sweet, smart and hard-working and our experience with his beautiful family was truly the most authentic and real experience we had with any of the locals while staying in Costa Rica. He has a beautiful wife, two beautiful children and two awesome dogs, Sasha and Falco, who will just love to hang out and play. David is a super warm and friendly host and will not hesitate to make you feel right at home and to give you good advise on what to do and see locally, he makes unbelievable coffee and watch out for his Banana Cake Breakfast Special. Yummy!!! If you are looking for a really chill place to stay, further away from potential crowds of younger rowdy backpackers who want to throw down all night! This place is a match made in heaven. Just sit on either one of the hammacks hanging on the front porch, cuddle a good book and get ready for that late night Monteverde cloud forest to swallow you whole. <3

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neomie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#6 of 34 in Santa Elena
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#10 of 34 in Santa Elena
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $22 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing