We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for your stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
1 review
“Everything you need for your stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely little place with private rooms and bathrooms, well maintained furniture and appliances, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Fully equipped kitchen very useful for making own meals. Breakfast foods provided in the morning for cooking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabellepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    76
    23
    11
    15
See reviews for
17
102
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Casa Tranquilo was my favorite lodging in Costa Rica, and we ended up staying longer than we planned to. The owner is very helpful - his English is good and he will share everything he knows about the area. The room we stayed in was rustic and cozy, and the shared bathroom was not bad, though toilet paper ran out often. In the kitchen there is a board with tours that you can book from the hostel for a discount. This was very helpful and allowed travelers to be independent and pick activities a la carte. The only negative I can think of is that most rooms face the street and when people drive by without mufflers or dogs get in fights (both happen often) it is so loud! Other than that, you make your own breakfast in the morning with ingredients laid out, and the supermarket is so close! You can save money if you choose to cook. It is the best value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gypsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
302 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Even I was not able to stay at this hostel as they were fully booked. I found the family running this hostel extremely friendly and helpful to help me to make my stay in Santa Elena great. They explain to me and suggested free activities and offered my gray tours for highly competitive rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My bf and I rented a car and it wasn't hard to find the place. Easy check-in for our double private room: simple and clean, but we felt a draft in a corner or two of the room. It was very windy outside at night and the loose shutters and loud noises overnight made it a little difficult for a good night's rest. Kitchen facilities were plentiful; it said they offered free breakfast but there was no "free" breakfast out at around 8am... Who knows.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveantoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at the Casa Tranquilo on a backpacking trip to Costa Rica in december 2012 with a friend. The staff is super friendly and helpful and they speak english. Rooms are very clean for this type of establishment, and they have some rooms with private bathroom for really low prices. Ask for their free tours of Monteverde : one of the staff members will show you around. They know the area and will take you to places you would never find if you just wandered by yourself, and it will only cost you whatever tip you decide to leave at the end of the day. There is also a communal kitchen so you can cook your own meals for cheap (supermarket is less than 5 minutes away on foot). It's not far from the Monteverde "commercial" area with all the restaurants and shops. All in all, a very positive experience and quite probably the nicest hostel I've seen during my stay in Costa Rica.

5/5, I will visit again if I ever return to Monteverde.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calella, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The parking is in a field for up to two cars. We got a room on the ground floor that seemed of employees. The hot water did not work well, mini towels were not enough. We went to breakfast and kitchen utensils were dirty and messy, the fruit was ripe and insects was rampant, the bread was not fresh. The night watchman told us that the reception was closed despite being a clear as day, scratching the back disheveled and half asleep

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The guys here made us feel welcome straight away. The common area with two computers is so comfy it feels like it could be your living room. The customer service here is some of the best that I've come accross. For example we were leaving before breakfast so he packed us up some banana bread and left it out in the morning.

Also while here I highly recommend getting them to organise a bird watching tour with adrien...he was so passionate and we saw 8 quetzals!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Property: Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing