We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesomeness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and David, the owner of the hostel was really friendly. He's knowledgeable about everything regarding the area and was very helpful. He personally makes you your breakfast which included some really bomb banana cake. The hostel environment was also very accommodating and the family dogs were really friendly. My friend and I booked a double but we were given the room with a full-sized and bunk bed so that was really nice upgrade, although the walls throughout the building was pretty thin and you can hear things that are happening outside. But all in all a great hostel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    84
    33
    18
    20
See reviews for
18
122
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 wonderful nights in this neat little place and we couldn't have been happier! Positive vibes throughout, clean room, very helpful and knowledgable staff (David and Esteban are really cool guys!) but most of all from the beginning we felt as if we were part of their tight knit family, and while traveling the connections you make with real people are so important to the overall experience... I recommend this place whole heartedly and will for sure stay again if ever in the area... PURA VIDA:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandruSabau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean, cozy, hammocks on the balcony, sweeettt kitchen - including microwave, 3 gas discs, and basically everything you'll need.
Super friendly staff, very professional and helpful, nice breakfast.

Perfect location near the supermarket and town's center.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuper135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in January and we were happily surprised with this place. It was our first time in Central America and didn't know what to expect. Immediately we were greeted with friendly smiles and advised on what to do in the town. They helped arrange activities for us and even took us on a hike where we climbed a giant strangler tree and rappelled down the side of it. Breakfast was nice and using the kitchen is great for people on a budget. Great hostel in this area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby12788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at Casa Tranquilo for 2 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful with organising activities and giving advice about buses etc. It was very comfortable and fairly clean, with a pretty good kitchen and hot showers. The only downside was that the building is creaky and quite cramped, so we could hear everything happening in the corridors and rooms around. The breakfast was fantastic – the best I’ve had in a hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed two nights with a group aged 18-23 having been recommended it by another friend.

Good:
Extremely friendly and helpful staff who sorted everything for us no problem.
Great breakfast served in a new separate canteen area. Unlike other hostels where 'free breakfast' means you can help yourself to some skanky cereal, a slice of buttered cardboard and the dregs of some fruit juice, here the breakfast is served to you like in a restaurant and consists of fruit, egg, toast, banana bread and coffee. It was great!
Five minutes walking distance of the only pub in town 'Amigos' and supermarket.
Transport to activities picks you up from hostel and all can be arranged through reception. Never felt pressured into spending money on activities though which is always refreshing.
$8 a night for private room and breakfast was amazing!

Bad:
Like other reviews say, the walls were quite thin but in my opinion you can't have it all and at the end of the day this is a hostel in Costa Rica not a 5 star hotel.

Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElJamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with a few friends, we'd be staying in the south of the country in the days previous to arriving and had a long bus/taxi/local driver journey. It was really nice to reach Casa Tranquilo after a long day. The owners were welcoming, very relaxed but helpful and organised. The rooms and facilities were good, not luxurious but neither is the price, so I was more than happy with what we got. The hostel has a central kitchen and communal area which is really nice and it was great to meet the other people staying at the time. There's loads of info of things to do in the area and we arranged our activities for our stay through the hostel. On one of the days one of the guys who works there took us tree climbing, it was brilliant, so much fun and saw some incredible views.

Bread and eggs were available for you to cook for breakfast free of charge.We had a really good stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Property: Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Tranquilo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing