We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$63
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
234
89
38
21
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
89
38
21
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadvegetarian restaurantthe kitcheneggsthe ownercosta ricafree breakfastprivate roomother guestsin townhot watercommon roomfelt like homeevery morningstayed here for nightspollohostel
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 408 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed in hostels all over Latin America and Europe and feel that Casa Tranquilo was by far my favourite so far. I have never encountered such friendly and helpful staff. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very clean and well kept and the guys working there are more than eager to provide all the information you need to have an amazing time in the Monteverde area. I loved that the place was quiet at night but full of life during the day. I will definitely be going back to this hostel to chill the next time I visit Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarahDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It's always nice to find a hostel where people deal with you like you part of the family ..... breakfast including, super clean rooms, great and very helpful staff, nice free walks around the area, good and quiet location and lovely dogs ....just excellent.
you can see that the stuff really care about.....everything...

i will miss you guys and for sure on day i will come back....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beak_0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Casa Tranquillo is a wonderful place!!! the guys are so nice and very helpful, clean rooms, clean kitchen, and for breakfast u get homemade banana bread and lots of fruits and coffee, i recommend this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its perfect!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uta f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

i stayed here at casa tranquilo, and t is exactly that. really nice place, close to everthing in town, and the staff is really awesome. very friendly and glad to help. the cost is very good, and the rooms are very clean and well kept, it was the first hot shower i had in costa rica. met lots of great people too. good breakfast in the morning too. be sure to ask about the trip to the hollow tree, super cool, and they took a group out for free!
enjoy your stay, thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at Casa Tranquilo for 1 week with my girlfriend and her grandmother. We stayed in the double room with private bathroom. The room was clean and free of any cockroaches. The shower worked good, and the toilet was clean. The breakfast every morning was great. I didn't realize that we would be cooking our own breakfast, but that was not an issue. The BANANA BREAD is AWESOME! Always coffee to drink, and lots of fresh fruit.

The internet service and computers were reliable.

The best part about staying at Casa Tranquilo was the hosts, David and Elvis. Not only were they kind and friendly, but they happily would give free detailed information about what to do in the area, and they would even draw maps.

Elvis brought us on a few hikes for free, and showed up some awesome views in the Monteverde area. Hiking with Elvis and his dogs was a highlight of the whole trip in Monteverde. Elvis also showed up some great local, cheap restaurants to eat at with typical food. They were awesome.

David's dad is a naturalist, and he is the recommended tour guide in the area. He even wrote a children's coloring book with all kinds of fun facts about the insects in the area.

Like the title says, Casa Tranquilo was tranquilo. Quiet, enjoyable, and the sun rises on the porch in the morning which makes it delightful to sit out and enjoy.

Overall the experience at Casa Tranquilo was unforgettable, and I would highly recommend any friend to go to this hostel, as it is probably the best value in Santa Elena.

Room Tip: The double room with private bathroom was the best room there, and we loved it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grantaloon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews