We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Noisy, but excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy, but excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at Casa Tranquilo for 3 nights at $10 a night. As soon as we arrived, Elvis, who is not the owner, but works there, offered us fruit and banana bread then took us on a free hike to a gorgeous fig tree. He was a wealth of info about the area and led me on three other free hikes, one to see the sunset over the Gulf of Nicoya. Breakfast was really good: cook it yourself but there were eggs, fruit, toast...and all left available during the day for snacking. And the owner, David baked amazing banana bread everyday! One negative: We were in a private room over the street and the nights were quite noisy. There are many dogs in town and there was a lot of barking going on.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfroese85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    76
    23
    13
    16
See reviews for
17
103
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Very reasonable price and the staff - especially Elvis - was very helpful. They can recommend good places to eat for an authentic experience and they have connections on the Pacific coast if you are looking for a good place to stay. The shower was very hot, but the rooms are drafty. There was a lot of wildlife in my room, but that's Costa Rica. The room was clean enough for the price, though a little drafty. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalang District, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice rooms, great location (close to everything), fun people who work at the hostel (Johnny in particular) hammock, guitars, the whole nine. def would recommend this place to a friend and will be staying here again on my next trip to Monte Verde!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastychef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in January 2012 with a group of friends, and it was a wonderful experience. They offer cute and clean rooms with delicious homemade banana bread in the morning (you can also make your own food with bread, eggs, fruit, etc. that they provide). The staff is incredibly helpful and knowledge--they assisted me in booking transportation and a room to the west coast, as well as helped me mapped out a route into Nicaragua. They helped us also organize a tour of Monteverde, including a night walk, and ziplining through the canopy (highly recommended).

They also have a hot shower, which is a huge bonus on these trips!

This was our favorite hostel from our two week trip. The staff is SO incredibly friendly, which makes all the difference in the world!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarisrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Nice & clean rooms, the staff is really great, helpful. They are also tour guides themselves and we had the best bird-watching experience with Johnny.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Beautiful warm and friendly place. The staff is very nice and qualified to give us information about all the possibilities that we can find in Monteverde. The room are comfortable and really clean. Having the common kitchen is very practical and hot shower are so appreciated after the tours. I recommend you for shure La casa tranquilo for give you the chance to bring amazing memories back home. Enjoy your trip, Pura Vida! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lecabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My friend and I had a great time staying at this hostel! The bed wasn't the most comfortable but the character of the place and advice from the owners made up for it. We were shown one of the best places to eat (from all our travels around Costa Rica) and given some great advice on what to do in Monteverde/Santa Elena. We were even able to print and fax some things without a charge. Also, great banana bread for breakfast :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tranquilo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tranquilo Hostel

Property: Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Address: 100 m downhill from the SuperCompro supermrket | Monteverde, Puntarenas, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Tranquilo is a rustic tico-style house turned into a relaxed hostel outside the village of Santa Elena in Monteverde, Costa Rica.here you'll find Free Breakfast, Free Internet & Wifi. Kitchen and parking area are also available... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tranquilo Hotel Santa Elena
Casa Tranquilo Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing