We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel with amazing owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #3 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with amazing owner”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Las Orquideas proved to be one of the best places I stayed in Costa Rica. There is about a 5 - 10 minute walk to town, but that inconvenience is more than compensated by the amenities of this hotel.The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The breakfasts were more than just toast and coffee. However, what set the hotel apart was the amazing owner. She was very gracious and looked after me and my family as if we were her own. She helped in scheduling adventures such as canopy zip lines (which you must do!) and transportation. I cannot wait to return to Costa Rica, and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetitoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    73
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
59
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I'm always very surprised at reviews that make no sense. I have read through many of the reviews on this hotel and am shocked that anyone would write anything negative about Las Orquideas. This charming little hotel is family run and more along the lines of a BnB. The owner was very accommodating and helped us with anything we needed. The rooms were extremely clean and the grounds were well manicured. Come to find out, this property used to be a dance hall years ago so the lay out was very open with the room entrances being in a shared area. We actually stayed in room number 7 which was in a separate building for larger families. Breakfast was yummy and the room rates were very affordable at a double rate starting at $50 including tax and breakfast!!! It was a total steal and easy to find. Great bargain and a very comfortable stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank abirken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

What a great way to end our trip to Costa Rica. This adorable gem of a hotel is only 10 minutes to the airport. If it weren't for the road noise, you would swear you were in the middle of paradise. Everywhere you look there is lush greenery and flowers. Nature trails ring the property and lead you to tropical birds and hidden waterfalls. The colors are perfectly chosen to create and charming style. The rooms are a good size with plenty of amenities. I would only add a mini-fridge. The pool is beautiful and the restaurant was great! The pictures on their website are exactly what it looks like. We were able to completely relax on our last day before going home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1artmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Las Orquideas is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, and it´s certainly a no frills "hotel." I don´t think there are more than 7 rooms. The owner and her son and daughter-in-law all live here in separate rooms, so there are really only 4 rooms for rent.

The owner is very nice and hospitable. She lived in Massachusetts (or maybe Mississippi...I forget which "M" state it was) for 20 years and does speak English, so I´m not sure why another reviewer mentioned that the owner speaks very little English. That is NOT true, as we held quite a lengthy conversation. She recommended a few very good restaurants in town, one of which is Mar & Tierra. She also offered to throw our wet clothes in the dryer if we managed to get them soaked during our canopy tour.

Positives about the place: free internet in the common area, homey feeling, breakfast, amazing view out the back

Negatives: not much. We were placed in a small corner room, but for the price we paid, I´m not complaining. The room served its purpose. The room doesn´t come with a blowdryer (a must have for my crazy, frizzy hair), but I never leave home without it anyway. So, if you are looking for a hotel with all that jazz, this is not the place for you.

Distance: approximately 10 minute walk from town

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed at Las Orquideas the first night we arrived in Costa Rica. We wish we could have spent more time there because it was very peaceful and quaint. I was a little nervous about the location at first because I had read other reviews that said it was a bit off the beaten path but we didn't agree with that because it took us 10 minutes to get into town. The breakfast was delicious and very authentic and our room was immaculate. I think the website says that checkout is supposed to be at noon but we knew we'd be a little late because we were doing a 9am canopy tour/sky walk. It was absolutely no problem for us to keep our things in the room and shower before we hit the road at around 3pm. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I agree with what the other reviewers have said.
Friendly staff person, Ana.
Great views, both down to the bay and across the street to the horse farm.
Noisy wind all night long, which might bother some and did reduce going outside to admire the view.
Internet: it wasn't working when we got there. We fixed it (the sysadmin was not available) but things don't always stay fixed.
Breakfasts: very nice.
Excellent hot water, clean rooms, comfy bed, and so on. Our room was the small corner one, sufficient for us and with the best view.
Walk to town is about 10 minutes. At night I was grateful for my yellow windbreaker and flashlight, since there are no sidewalks and little light. Still, it is a minor walk right to the center of town.
Extra details: After we washed our muddy shoes outside, the staff person suggested putting our shoes behind the drinks refrigerator. They dried out gently and thoroughly by the next morning. Sounds minor, but it was really nice. Every time we came in wet, we took off our shoes and put them there.
There is a small bookshelf of shared books, and a table of travel material, including guidebooks, brochures, maps, butterfly ids, and so on.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_T_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We arrived to Las Orquideas from Arenal and stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is well kept and clean and the water pressure is great here. The breakfast is very good and great start for the early morning hikes or excursions.

We arrived by shuttle and compared Las Orquideas to the hotels in the area and we were very pleased with our decision to stay here.

The owner went well out of his way to make us feel very welcome and comfortable. The coffee at this hotel is fresh straight from his coffee farm and you can have it every morning you stay here.

This was a memorable place to stay, great views and within walking distance from town. At night you can see all the stars and in the morning you can see the clouds roll through the mountains near by.

On a side note - We had a guided tour in the cloud forest booked with an excursion company for 1pm but the owner of the hotel recommended we go early in the morning in order to see all the animals. Thanks to the owner of this hotel who was kind enough to get a hold of our guide and make the changes. We ended up seeing a grey fox (very rare), sloth, tarantula, coatis, quetzal (endangered species) and toucans.

  • Liked — nice clean rooms and the owner
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mzchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
El Establo
El Establo
#11 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Property: Hotel Las Orquideas
Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. We have two styles of rooms, rustic and modern. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing