We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Orquideas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #5 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Located adjacent to a beautiful valley, Las Orquideas is a homey small place with clean well maintained rooms and within a walking distance from the center of Santa Elena. Breakfast is rich and delicious. The place owner's hospitality and warmth are genuine. She has helped us arrange our tour in the area, and offered assistance which came very handy since we traveled with 3- year old twins. Although we've stayed in nice hotels during our stay in CR, this is the one I will mostly remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
48
100
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We walked the 500 or so metres from the bus stop on arrival and were warmly welcomed by the lovely Nadia (owner). From the moment we got there she was extremely helpful in recommending and booking local activities, of which there is an abundance.

We were given a choice of rooms and decided upon one in the main building with a view of the valley - we would've taken the massive family room on offer for the same price had it not been for the wi-fi access not working in that building.

Breakfast was included and was simple and tasty. Coffee, fruit bowl, eggs, hash brown, traditional rice & beans accompanied by fried plantain - a fitting combo to set you up for the day.

Nadia lent us her husbands charger on the first night and then went into town and bought us one to use the next day. She also took us to town one day to use the bank and dropped us off at the bus stop. Really made the whole stay feel like we had a personal service - very kind, genuinely helpful and mothering without being at all obtrusive.

We opted to get some beers in and play cards one night and used the large breakfast and kitchen area to do so. We also ended up leaving for San Jose one day earlier than our booking and Nadia was very understanding and did not even think of charging us despite it being after checkout time on the day!

Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_erby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on February 19th, 2013, for one night. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and given the choice of two rooms. The room we chose was large and actually had 4 beds. The property is located on one of the main roads into Santa Elena and beside a cliff overlooking a beautiful valley. There is a wrap-around veranda (and lookout) facing the valley. The property is less than a ten minute walk to the centre of town.

The service at Las Orquideas is excellent. Both employees (one of them being the owner) were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. They provided much information about the local area and Costa Rica in general.

This was also a great place to practice your Spanish (but you can still by get with just English). In most places in the world people insist on communicating in English so this was a refreshing change.

The breakfast provided was very good.

If you do stay here, be aware that it is on the main road so during the day it can be a bit noisy; however, overnight it was quiet as the traffic died down.

Overall, we felt this property represented good value and we were happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was gorgeous. 5 kind walk from santa elena with a huge wraparound balcony that looks out on a waterfall and the valley below. Comes complete with it's own pet monkeys and racoons. Breakfast was great and value for money second to none.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessWestAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

It's a small, family run bed and breakfast right outside Santa Elena (town if you will). The señora who own the place was friendly, accommodating and attentive. She allowed my mom to use the kitchen to heat up some leftovers and was helpful in booking tours. The triple was outfitted with a queen size and a twin size bed, table and chair for three and a view of the valley. We were greeted by a herd of white head capuchins our first morning. Breakfast was home-style: eggs cooked to your liking, good coffee, juice, casado, toast and cheese and delicious. There is a wrapped around balcony in the back that provides an excellent view of the valley and waterfalls.

Downside-it's right off the main road to Santa Elena so it can be noisy and seem like you are experiencing a mild earthquake when delivery trucks passes. Since the town dies by 9pm it wasn't that much of a bother. The walls are thing so would recommend staying away from the common area (rm 4, 5 or 6). It is also a five minute walk from town, so if you want to be closer to the "action" then consider something closer. For my family, it was just the right distance.

Sum- lovely B&B with friendly proprietor and good food.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Setsuna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Las Orquideas is located at the entrance of Santa Elena. We checked into a large, spacious two room hotel room equipped with a queen bed and dining table and bath in one room and twin bed and captains bunks in the other. There was a carport, which was a very pleasant surprise. The grounds were immaculate with amazing gardens throughout and a wonderful view!!!! The breakfast was amazing and homemade, cooked to order as we sat down (eggs, black beans and rice, fresh fruit, cheese, toast and of course coffee and juice). We were able to feed the pizotes (sp) just like other reviewers mentioned.

We walked into town for dinner both nights. We ate at the Tree House restaurant which was really good and quite unique. We enjoyed a canopy tour and hanging bridges hike with Selvatura and had a wonderful time!

We will definitely stay at Las Orquideas the next trip to the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAlta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The rooms were clean and the owner lives there and she was very very helpful. They have a viewing platform at the back which is fantastic. Breakfast was included and freshly made, the only pity is that we did not know :-s our fault though. Even though not directly in the center of town it is only a short walk away. Internet connection was very good. The only downside of it was that it did not have any heating system.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVELMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Property: Hotel Las Orquideas
Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Monteverde, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. Bathrooms are decorated with genuine Spanish ceramics, wood accents and modern, high efficiency hardware. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing