We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #3 of 15 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I have seen all of the reviews for this hotel and would like to clear up some misconceptions that everyone may have about this hotel and tripadvisors placement in the ratings. Ratings on tripadvisor are done by us, the customers. There is no official "star" rating system with professional travel writers making recommendations. The fact that Las Orquideas is rated #1 in Santa Elena is because customers feel it is the best place to stay. I have found Las Orquideas on other sites and it is a 1 star hotel. Personally, I feel it is the cleanliest and nicest 1 star hotel I have ever stayed in. You might find some spiders or other insects in the rooms, but face it people--you are just a few miles away from the Cloud Forest, there are going to be bugs. If you are afraid of a few beetles, spiders, and mosquitoes, Costa Rica is not the place for you and maybe you should consider some place north like Niagara Falls. I loved feeding the Pizotes in the morning and have posted some great pics of them crawling up my leg. They can be a little aggressive, so parents--don't let your kids hold the plate of food because their claws are sharp. Breakfast was good and actually better than some I have had in 3 star hotels. The owner was very accommodating in allowing us to leave our luggage with her while we toured the cloud forest since we were checking out that day. She had several restaurant recommendations and the walk to town is easy and not far. The view sells this place above anything! I have posted some amazing shots I snapped from the back porch. If you are looking for a clean, economical place to stay close to Santa Elena--this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livetotravel4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

We got to the hotel and were amazed by the detail of the construction of the place. You feel like you are in a large modern log cabin.
The manager is very nice but doesn't speak English so it may be a little inconvenient to people who don't know any Spanish.

The place is immaculately clean.
We made our own dinners in the kitchen and it was really nice.

There are large glass windows over looking the mountains. GORGEOUS!
Our room had the most amazing view of the mountains.
There were monkeys and other animals that hung out on the balconies. It was so amazing to to get so close to them.
The hotel is about a 10 min. walk into the center of town which we liked. We did not get the noise of the pollution of the cars and felt like we were in a remote area when were were not.
This was our favorite hotel out of the 5 we stayed in in costa rica.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacationfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The place we stayed at was very nice also very clean. they cooked break fast for us in the morning it was very good a typical Costa rican meal rice and beans, eggs how every you want them and some oj. The lady that runs it is from Mississippi so she speaks English and Spanish very well. it seems like they feed monkeys a lot so as we were there we say a lot of monkeys close up that was a lot of fun. Also the lady that ran it help us move your zip line trip to a better time for us. overall it was clean and help full.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank jtilly37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

This B&B was decent. It was clean and quiet. It has a beautiful view out the back. It's a 5-10 minute walk down to the center of town. During the day the walk isn't bad, but at night it was a little sketchy. There is no sidewalk to walk on for about half the walk.
The website says that they speak English fluently, and that they have "therapeutic mattresses". We didn't find either of these things to be true. The only woman we spoke with while there didn't speak English very well and spoke mostly in Spanish even though we told her we only spoke a little Spanish.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breaker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This place was comfortable, clean, bright, and Lisa the manager/concierge was very helpful with booking trips and excursions (though I believe it helps if you speak Spanish). The rooms are a bit worn and the sheets, furniture, bathroom a bit old, but squeaky clean and absolutely doable for the price. I'd say it's a good value, especially in the remote Monteverde area where luxury seems to really come at a premium. You have to keep this in mind - this is not really the land of spa hotels! Las Orquideas really is, like other reviewers have said, staying at Grandma's house in a good way. For breakfast, we had eggs (any style we wanted), rice and beans, and some variation or vegetable or cheese, fresh fruit, coffee and (artificial) orange juice. It is served in the common room and you get to see Lisa cook it right then and there. Bathroom floors and walls are blue/white tiled, with a shower (no tub). Not luxury, but clean. The hotel is a 12 min walk from town, along a windy road but adequately-lit road with no sidewalks (none of the roads really have sidewalks).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRebeccaSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Wow, I booked this hotel from reading great reviews and boy was I disappointed! Yes the staff is nice, but doesn't speak ANY English! Yes I know I am in Costa Rica, but still! She could not help us book excursions, she couldn't even recommend a place to eat! And last but not least the walls were so thin I could litterally follow the patrons next to us conversation about getting to the airport the next day. Would not stay there again!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ryAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We were a group of 4 couples who stayed here 3 nights and loved it! The rooms open onto a large common area with TV and dining area. It was perfect for a group or even individuals. The hotel is warm and inviting like a B&B with a lovely back area for viewing the twin waterfalls and gorgeous hills sloping down toward the Nicoya Penisula. It was an easy walk into town of Santa Elena for restaurants and shopping. The owners, Danilo and Nidia, were very helpful in planning activities, dining options, and local history. They and their friendly staff made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. Of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica, this was our favorite! It made us feel at home and a chance to be part of the local area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottaGOanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain Faro B&B
#7 of 15 in Santa Elena
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 15 in Santa Elena
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. We have two styles of rooms, rustic and modern. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing