We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
174
214
110
25
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
214
110
25
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic hotel hot water eco friendly hotel walls are thin rooms are comfortable cloud forest short walk beans and rice rental car watermelon nice breakfast pancakes staff was very friendly and helpful two nights laundry service main building couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 525 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

clean and big rooms!
a bit strange of the shower policy.
only 5min.
ok breakfast. could have been a bit better.
only 10min from the center.
friendly people!!
the balcony was a bit strange, its locked in but could open a window.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank debol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of Costa Rica. The rooms we had backed onto the forest area. The room was basic but quite large with a decent sized bathroom. There is no air con as Monteverde is very cool in fact in March it was chilly and windy we needed fleeces,There was a safe on the wall but no fridge. Breakfast was cereal and there was eggs and fruit and gallo pinto (local rice and beans) with plenty of coffee all served in a pleasant clean restaurant. Staff very friendly and the rooms were clean. Nice gardens plenty of bird life - including humming birds. Sleep quality was poor as it was so windy of a night it was howling and the tree branches were hitting the roof most of the night.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

A nice basic hotel for the price. We were greeted with drinks upon arrival. Staff was very helpful with planning tours, directions and showed us where we could possibly see the sloth in one of their trees (unfortunately it never appeared). Walls are thin and we did have noisy neighbors one night. No safes in the room, but they have a security guard and we never felt unsafe. Breakfast was good and again, the staff was very pleasant. We saw beautiful rainbows from our room.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sherylhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

The room was clean but very simple. There is nothing like refrigerator, safe or coffee in the room. The water in the shower were not warm enough and in very low pressure.the towels were rather small and should have been replaced by newer ones. The staff is very nice. Breakfast is very basic, we had better ones in Codta Rica.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 143tirzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Hotel Cipreses is a good, basic hotel for Monteverde. It is within walking distance of the town center of Santa Elena. The staff there was helpful with scheduling special nature tours in the area. In January the wind blows and rooms get cool at night. We asked for an extra blanket and they were happy to comply. Best bonus: On the final evening of our stay, we saw s sloth moving around in the trees above our room. We took plenty of pictures!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kirk l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews