We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

For the price, this hotel is an excellent option. The room was clean and spacious, although could have had more amenities (coffee maker, working TV, etc). The concierge helped us to set up activities such as night walks and coffee tours. Best of all, the location is perfect. It is a short 10 minute walk into town and we were often the first people dropped off when returning from activities in shuttles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    180
    78
    19
    1
See reviews for
96
153
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel itself was clean with friendly staff but the thin walls were a deal breaker. You could hear every voice, shuffling of items, and (literally) every hum of your neighbor. This was through walls with closed doors. Then the balconies are all one solid structure, almost like a hallway, completely enclosed with glass on the outer side (they opened but neighbors complained instantly of you letting bugs in if you opened it). The only separation was a metal bar. It felt like you were sitting with your neighbors... and if they knew each other (day one was a group from the Netherlands, and day 2 was a group from the US) and were placed on each side of you, it was like you were in the middle of them... you literally were right with them - in the middle though - on the balcony, and again, you heard everything. It's unfortunate because it's a pretty hotel that is very environmentally conscious (no A/C, but not really needed at that elevation) and clean. Just annoyingly noisy in your room at all times. I promise I am not being picky, it was crazy to hear every cough and hum - obviously we had a literally hours upon end humming single older lady next to us - can you tell it's still burned into my brain? :-/

Room Tip: Get an end room upstairs to reduce the number of neighbors for use of balcony and hopefully less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank frogandtoadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Unfotunately I do not hace the night rate infomation, as It was paid by someone else.

Hotel is good and comfotable.

Only disppointing is the balcony door does not lock

Front desk people are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberto Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice hotel with impeccable grounds.The floor to ceiling window in my room was so clean that I didn't realize it was there and I walked right through it. Almost broke the glass and my nose, lmao. Staff was friendly, only downfall is that breakfast was way too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great value, particularly in the off season when there are deals. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast is included. Room was clean and fine, although the bathroom had no soap. Internet in the room was inconsistent. Walk into town, downhill, is easy, but take a cab back, uphill.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLCEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is very clean and very nice. The staff is helpful. When we arrived we saw a chocolate and coffee tour that started in 30 minutes. The gentleman at the front desk called them and got us into the tour very quickly and they picked us up within 10 minutes. As mentioned by someone else, the hotel is located a little further from downtown. It was about a 10 min walk to downtown (downhill), but it is quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Location is perfect if you are arriving by Local Bus frn San Jose as it is a 5 min walk from the station and located downtown La Fortuna, but those wanting to stay near the hot springs and near the Volcano should keep in mind that this hotel is around 10 km away from Arenal Volcano and park, which is a $10-15 taxi one way (unless you go with the pirate taxis they are around 7 bucks per way). Other than that, the breakfast was lovely and our balcony had a side view of the Volcano (make sure you request it). There are several restaurants nearby but I found La Fortuna to be pricier than Monteverde or Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZainAli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing