We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good value for the money!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is really a bare bones hotel, but has several advantages...it is about a five minute drive from town; each room has a balcony with a table and chairs, and they have a full breakfast that is included, we were able to watch a sloth move slowly from branch to branch in a tree right from our room! What a treat! While the walk to town is short, it is downhill, so would recommend taking a cab back up the steep hill! The only drawback are the paper-thin walls...we could hear the adjoining TV and a person snoring...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squiret0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    188
    85
    20
    1
See reviews for
105
166
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quadra Island BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is quite nice situated on a street that is quiet and not very busy. The main road through Santa Elena is one street down the hill where you can find an excellent restaurant called Sabor Tica. Our stay at Cipreses and Monteverde was made most enjoyable with the friendly help of Jose, the manager, whose excellent English and very professional service was most valuable. An excellent breakfast is included, the rooms are spacious, clean, with hot/warm water (low pressure). All the employees here and owner are very friendly. Unfortunately, our mattress was not the best and needed replacing, which the owner says is going to be done soon. Let Jose know you want a room with a newer mattress when you check in. I slept well here,nevertheless.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buckaroo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were there last summer and found the hotel alittle noisy. This was especially true for the upper rooms closest to the road. The issue is not the traffic but rather the fact that the balcony's for each room are one next to another and are protected by glass windows. When people talk on their balcony (especially at night), the sound echos al the way into the rooms. We asked to change room and were relocated to the next building and it was much calmer with separate balcony`s. Rooms are large. Bedding is clean but old.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiter in the back. I would recommend upper level so you get less traffic from people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsuVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Hotel Cipreses provides a clean, well maintained property just up the hill in Santa Elena not far from Monteverde. On our arrival after a rocky and dusty drive from La Fortuna, Jose greeted us with cold fruit drinks while we checked in.

Shortly after we settled in, the garderner pointed out a huge sloth up in the trees. We watched it from the porch outside our room as it moved from branch to branch in search of food. Dinner was a 5 minute stroll down the hill to the Sabor Tico.

Breakfast starts at 7 and was included in our room rate. I think it's 7 USD per person if not. It's a buffet so there are several options including fresh fruits - was wonderful.

We only stayed a night ahead of our ziplining tour the next morning, but it is an ideal spot for quiet away from the road and the small town down the hill. Just make sure you ask for a room away from others so that you're not disturbed by their noise when they get up early in the morning.

Room Tip: Room may not be that quiet. You can hear your neighbour's alarm clock and conversations outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arrived at this Santa Elena hotel pretty late transferring from Granada, Nicaragua. Jorline (spelling ?) at the front desk got me set up quickly and also suggested and arranged a couple of trips. Already had my canopy trip booked, but he helped to change the timing, so that I could fit in something else. Also, I was set up with a Jeep-Boat-Jeep tour to Arenal after my 2 days at Monteverde. I was originally worrying a little given my lack of detailed planning for this leg of the trip, but the hotel staff was fantastic in sharing the information and setting me up with the trips. So, don't sweat too much, just show up...:-) Also, the b'fast in the morning that was served in the dining room was pretty good. Wifi in the room worked great for me. My only issue was that there's no closet space inside the room, but you can get by. Loved the view of the mountain and valley from the room and right outside. I would recommend this hotel for the location and very friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subrata7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We made this as a last minute booking. We needed three beds and it worked. Like previously posted walls are thin and stairs are noisy. Most people seem to be in bed early. Great location for morning views and a short walk to town. Mattresses on double bed were below average. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cipreses for two nights right before the Christmas holiday. I'd highly recommend the hotel to others looking for an attractively priced option in the area. It's about a 10 minute drive to Monteverde. We stayed in a "Standard Superior" room so we paid a few dollars more per night. I'm not sure the difference between it and a "Standard" room but our rooms was fairly spacious and comfortable.

At this price point my main concerns are cleanliness and to a lesser degree the comfort of the bed. Hotel Cipreses is a clean, well-maintained facility and the beds were above average in my opinion. Like with most budget hotels don't expect to get extra towels or toiletries but the room and its comforts are superb. What was also nice about this hotel was the outside deck. It provides a great view of the rest of the property and is a great place to hang out and have a drink after a long day of hiking at Monteverde.

Why didn't I give it four stars? Minor gripes but enough that I can't give it an excellent rating.

1. The maids, even when tipped, refuse to take away used glasses and replace them with clean ones.

2. Our friends went to the hotel lobby and requested a tour with Selvatura. They went through the whole process only to realize that the hotel had booked them with Aventura instead. Honest mistake? Possibly but Aventura marketing materials are featured prominently throughout the property so I'm guessing they steer tourists there subtly or not so subtly.

Lastly, the included breakfast is a nice touch. The food, both American and Tico was very good.

Room Tip: Breakfast starts at 7am so you have time to grab a bite before heading out for a day of hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Property: Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing