We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent choice for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff is polite and the rooms and bathrooms are large by Costa Rican standards but the water in the shower never got the slightest bit warm. There is free wifi throughout the property and there is free use of the computers in the lobby. Laundry can be done on site; they charge by the kilo. The walls in the room are thin and we could clearly hear the conversations of our neighbors on both sides. There is a good soda down the street and the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Monteverde.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 457 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 as part of my G Adventures Tour. The room is a decent size, bathroom is small though. I was in room 16. TV in room.
If you like hot showers, this is not the place for you. I never had a hot shower, it was barely warm in fact.
There is limited Wifi unless your room is close to reception. My room was right behind reception and it was still sketchy at best. There are computers available in the reception area for guest's use.
There is a restaurant on site to get food and drinks. I didn't eat here, so I'm not sure what the food was like.
Make sure to ask about the restaurant down the hill. It had great food for a cheap price. However, we were in a large group and the food took quite awhile to arrive at the table. But well worth the wait. I ordered the Rice with Shrimps and thought it was quite Yummy.
We did walk into town from this hotel. It is a bit of a walk downhill on dark streets (bring a flashlight so cars can see you) but definitely walkable, maybe 10 minutes.
I was here for two nights (as I travelled around different parts of Costa Rica), and wanted to stress that even in March (dry season) it was cold here! Dress accordingly. It rained the whole time and it is not a warm rain. It is REAL rain (maybe misty). When we went to the Cloud Forest (morning), I had on a sleeveless top, a fitted jacket, a sweatshirt and a rain jacket. It was warmer for the Zip Lining (in the afternoon), but still needed a jacket.
As well, I found it quite cold at night in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cara_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived late to the hotel because we got lost in this foreign country ( We are from the US) and the place was loccked up tight. Dirt roads, signs you can't see and terrible directions from the Hotel clerk you try and find a soccer field in the dark. We arrived at 11:30 PM and we were told by security we were out of luck he had no keys and no way of getting ahold of anyone to help. The next morning the "Manager" told us "This happens all the time" when we asked for our money back they refused, The owner would not return our numerous calls and emails. After a 7 hour drive we had to sleep in the rental car. All we want is our money back we showed up and they were closed. WHAT A SCAM. WE ARE TELLING ALL OF OUR FRIENDS TO STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCipreses, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Our Hotel is located in the beautiful Monteverde, undoubtedly one of the biggest problems that exist are the roads entirely is outside of the hotel, is a regional problem, our hotel offers an online booking system with direct payment or can make their reservations by mail without payment until the day of the arrival, our website provides the booking and cancellation policies prior to payment, and the option should be selected "agree" to proceed with payment, is very common that hotels have a schedule for reception in case of ours is from 6am - until 10pm, after hours of the reception, a security guard authorized can hand over the keys, if you are a bit later, it is important that when people think they will arrive later of schedule, usually them make a call for us to let us know or an email that will respond soon. In case of cancellation without notice is disputed through by the banks where each of the hotel or person presents evidence and will be them who decide to return money. Our rooms are cleanliness and quality services are no doubt many people have called us in a good way for our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Don't let the 70's style comforter fool you - it may look a little outdated here, but something feels very warm about this place. The receptionist helped us arrange a private driver and explain all there is to see in the area. He was patient and by far offered the most information since arriving in Costa Rica. The wifi was free and available in the rooms. Breakfast was amazing! The beds and pillow was super comfortable. If you need fluffy towels, this is the not the place for you. If you are in the area for a night or two - I would highly recommend it. Ask about the local food place down the hill - amazing local rice dishes...

If you come to the area - expect COLD temperatures! Pack accordingly.

Room Tip: I was in room 22. This had 3 beds (even thought there were only 2 of us) and it was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night while in Monte Verde. The staff was amazingly helpful with directions and hospitality. They even started breakfast early for us when they knew that our ziplining excursion was going to be early. Breakfast was absolutely delicious!
The room was spacious and very clean - we were 5 people and it was not crowded at all. Additionally the internet connection was the best we had seen in CR :)
Would recommend this place to anybody going to Monte Verde!
Pura Vida :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel is simple yet clean. I had room #38 and it was 2 double beds, with a balcony. The TV didn't work, and neither did some of the lights, this didn't help when coming home after sunset and the light outside the door doesn't work. There is only 1 key per room, so if you and your roomie have different schedules, this could be problematic. There is free wifi, and laundry here is cheap (by weight, one bag was about $6 USD) with ~ 12h turnaround time. There is no safety deposit box in the room, and thus you had to put everything in an envelope to go in the office, but their security is lax. My roomie went and said her name, but corrected it to my name and still got the envelope handed to her. Also, my laundry was switched with another girl in my group. If I did not know anyone else in the hotel, chances are that they would've just let me pick from the bags of laundry they had. There is very little counter space in the bathroom, so a hook is handy to have on your toiletry bag. There are windows to vent out the humidity though. It's about a 5-10 min walk to town, but partially along sparsely lit gravel alley.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelengnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My parents and sisters ended up at Hotel Cipreses based on a recommendation from the staff at the Monteverde Welcome Center. Upon arriving, the front desk clerk Jose Arturo was SUPER helpful, kind and accommodating! He even asked the breakfast staff to get up early (6:40am!) and cook us breakfast, which again, was DELICIOUS (eggs, plantains, beans and rice, pancakes)! Our room was very spacious and clean. The price of the room was VERY reasonable. The wi-fi was strong--great for Facetimeing and Skype! I would recommend this place to any traveler.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Address: Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: $51 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cipreses is a mountain & garden hotel, located just 5 minutes walk from the commercial center of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the hotel provides various services such as: Breakfast, free Internet access, WiFi, hot water, local information, the hotel began as small businesses and increased by the increase of tourism in the area. In addition, the hotel is included in the list of ECO hotels, which is why we have different policies for reducing natural resources, solar panels, waste recycling, alternative lighting systems and water reusable for other purposes, far to be a mountain resort, we just try to be a total quality hotel environment friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing