We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair and easy going place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fair and easy going place”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed here with my family for two nights beginning of January.
I like the fact that everyone is so easy going at this place. ( especially the owner-lady, but I never caught her name) Common area very pleasant to hang out, play cards and catch up with other backpackers and exchange travel tips. There is a nice functional communal kitchen that's often busy with friendly people. The hostel is on a convenient location to the grocery stores and to places to book canopy tours or other activities. Walking distance to Ranario Frog Pond . We had a car but I saw on the wall a white board where anyone who needed to share a ride to different destinations in CR could put the name down. That was neat. I was with a spouse and 5 month old we stayed in a room with 5 beds and private bathroom for $45. The room was OK.
The only thing that we would have liked better is if the common aria was open beyond 10:00 PM. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this place.

--

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    206
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
63
280
115
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This was a great place to stay on a budget. Central location, very friendly staff, fun and laid back atmosphere. The supermarket is a block and a half away. The hostel even has a fridge to keep your beer cold. I would recommend this place for the hammock loving back packer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeygirl237265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Like everybody before me, their best amenity is the staff. They are pretty awesome at giving away useful info. What I found endearing was that although they had just given me the lecture on the best zipline (Extremo!! Do it.), I overheard the same detailed lecture to someone else right after me, and they did it with the same enthusiasm. All the staff are fellow travelers with great senses of adventure and humor.

We had a standard room in the 'old' section. The place was totally clean, but could really use a little bit of an update. Also, we went when it was pretty chilly and an extra blanket would have been helpful...although we could have just asked for one and would likely have gotten two! The computers their suck quite a bit, just a warning. They get viruses and sometimes don't even turn on.

You're very centrally located which is a benefit for getting around, but it can be a little loud with the trucks and buses as the incoming traffic goes right by the Pension. I brought earplugs and slept fine. There is laundry in town but it can be pretty expensive. We found a place that would do it for $4/load but I can't remember the name. It was a souvenir shop...also there is a school bus that will do it too.

Lastly - Taco Taco next door has AMAZING nachos!! No joke, get the chicken nachos and share them with a friend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8WillyNilly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Pension Santa Elena for four nights in late December. The best thing about Pension Santa Elena is the staff. They are very helpful, gave us so much advice and helped us book tours and transportation. The atmosphere is very fun with people from all over the world hanging out in the lounge in the evening. It is walking distance to many restaurants and a grocery store. My only complaint is our room and particularly the bathroom was filthy. We had reserved a deluxe private room but I'm not sure that is what we got and it was pretty worn, and run down. One of the windows in the bathroom was broken and since it was very cold, wet and windy that made it pretty uncomfortable at night. As some of the other reviewers s suggest I would look at your room when you get there and also try to get one in the newer building because they look less worn.Still -- a good value for the price and location and you can't beat the great staff.

Stayed December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoytravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This is a real gem.
It´s as old school backpacker style as it gets, but rooms are way above standard and most importantly the staff is absolutely great, fun and not least extremely helpful.
They take care of anything you ask them and it feels like they genuinely would like to help you to get the best deal and/or experience and not just get the profit.
We cannot recommend this place enough. They set the standard for how to run a budget accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This place is extremely basic. Just your barebones hostel, pretty rundown (almost dirty), no frills whatsoever. The town of Santa Elena is very small so no matter where you are you’ll be centrally located. The plus with this hostel is that the staff are really great about answering all our questions and helping us with tours and transfers. They organized all the transportation for our trip—even to towns other than Santa Elena—we just paid them upon arrival a few days later. The free computer room with internet access sealed the deal for us. And there’s a communal kitchen so you can shop in the grocery store down the street and cook at the hostel, saving a ton of money. The place caters to backpackers so the vibe is friendly and social which is nice—makes it easier to meet people, especially for solo travelers. Just don’t expect any sort of luxuries when you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc10009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The pension is just a few steps away from the bus stop. Very friendly and helpful staff, who will be ready to give you indipendent information and suggestions for tours. They can book you a guide for the National Park, as well. Clean basic rooms-rooms, they differ so you might want to take a look at different ones before choosing. An ideal place for backpackers-where you would feel safe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine1005_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#9 of 33 in Santa Elena
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing