We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute best deal in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Hands down, this was the best budget hotel/hostel I have ever stayed at. Honestly such a breathe of fresh air after staying at countless hostels in Costa Rica that are of poor value and customer service. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfy, and the common area/front porch actually make you want to sit and hang there. Not to mention an AWESOME Mexican restaurant connected to the hotel.

But truly, the best part of staying here was the customer service. From the moment we arrived until we checked out, every member of the staff was beyond friendly and helpful. For the first time, we felt that we were receiving genuine, unbiased travel advice. Monteverde being a big tourist destination, choosing the right tours and activities can seem a little overwhelming - but the staff here truly want to help. We loved their recommendations for tours and restaurants, and they were so helpful in helping us make our travel plans to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 713 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff here went beyond the call of duty helping me to get back something I left there! They were also very friendly whilst I was there. The rooms and prices are good, I think the only negative was the crazy loud bikes going past - but none of the rooms are on the street so not much more could be done.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in early July 2014. At first we were assigned to a room (for 3) that was on the ground floor next to the street, at the front of the pension. It was very noisy so we asked to be reassigned the next day. They accommodated us with an upstairs room at the back of the property. It was very quiet there, and we had a nice view of the surrounding mountains. The staff at the pension is very knowledgeable about things to do, tourist buses, etc. Both rooms we stayed in were clean and everything worked properly. We were within walking distance of bank, restaurants, shopping. The breakfast was good. We were within walking distance of a biological reserve.

I would recommend this pension to family/friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new section, at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geezerette46307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a great little hotel/hostel type of place. Very clean rooms. I stayed in a room with a private shower and toilet. But the best part of Pension SA are the people. Joe and Diego were so welcoming and helpful. They helped me set up any "excursions" I wanted without a hitch. Great advice on what to see, where to go, and especially where to eat (thanks Diego!). I will definitely stay here when I return next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gandalf3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I camped for 2 nights. Costa Rica was never the best for camping spots, but they accommodated us nicely here, if in a relatively small area. The bathroom situation was standard for a hostel, and we were very happy with the communal kitchen situation. Good vibes all around from the employees, especially with the tips they give you on how to make the most of your time in the area. Plus a great cat.

Room Tip: camped out in the nice patio/yard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dgg217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the hostel with our son (8yrs), and enjoyed the welcoming, positive atmosphere. There were other families with kids there, and we found all of the travelers/guests to be pleasant. The staff was friendly, and very helpful with helping us to organize accommodations in the next towns we were headed to, as well as helping us decide on which adventures to pursue in Monteverde (Diego was especially helpful!!) We stayed in a private room, with bath, in the annex, and found it to be spacious, clean, and a great price. The lobby has foosball, wifi, and is generally a good place to hang out. I almost forgot- breakfast (included in price) is delicious!

Room Tip: The annex is especially nice- we stayed upstairs with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staff are very helpful and the crowd is Gap year. Good company, music, and the location is within walking distance of the bus stop. Rooms are clean and access to all the attractions make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank p31893189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $25 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing