We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great value for money, private rooms with own shower I had was clean, great common area with wifi to hangout with, amazing breakfast (lovely taco), helpful staff, reservation by e-mail beforehand worked well

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENJEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 741 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! The staff are the most friendly, helpful, knowledgable dudes I've ever come across:-) we had a fabulous room w loft bed, felt like a treehouse....the communal lounge and outside deck have something for everyone and always the right music playing! The free breakfast was fantastic as well!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We did not stay at The Pension but we might as well have because every night of our trip in Monteverde we hung out there. What a great bohemian meeting place filled with interesting travelers and a great energy! The main area where everyone hangs out is a little gem, something read about in books. Travelers from Germany are conversing with travelers from Italy and sipping beers with people from Norway, it was such a unique atmosphere that you wont find anywhere else we are grateful for the expierence. It is very clean and well kept (someone is always sweeping) and the guys who run the hostel are beyond awesome, especially Ronald who helped us with everything in the area. Even if you are not staying there, grab a taco from the great Taco Taco next door and a beer and take it all in, a must stop!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meghan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights. Super clean rooms with private shower (pretty as its made out of natural stones).
There is a equpped kitchen and a fridge. Free coffee all day! But the best part is the reception: the staff is soo extremely friendly, attentive and helpfull! They can arrange every possible local trip with honest hints and suggestions!! They got maps, hot to get to your next destination.
Just great!!!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Aap86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

There was nothing incredibly wrong with this place. The room was basic but okay, and safe, and it was nice to have a common kitchen, though it was almost always crowded. In the common areas, though, there was constant loud music playing, and it was generally either top 40 (aka Justin Bieber) or whatever you call inauthentic "reggae" music that is basically boneheaded party rock. The music is blared both inside and outside. I found this very unpleasant, but then again, I'm in my 30's. The vibe here is a bit pretentious, as well. Lots of people seemed to be hanging around getting drunk, and bragging about how much experience they have traveling the world (does traveling count if you're sitting around in your hostel all day long)? The included breakfast is ridiculously scant--one taco, and a couple of small pieces of fruit. What's annoying is that the management tries to pass this off as beneficial to the guests--"since you are likely going to have a vigorous day of hiking, you don't want a heavy breakfast anyway." The staff were sometimes aloof, and some acted put-out when we had questions. Blah. It's cheap, and probably fun if you're 19, but you get what you pay for, and I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmokno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Pension and it was just as we had remembered - except that the office has been rearranged. We like it for a variety of reasons - low price, location, and guests. Breakfast is now included in the price. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. If they can't answer your question, they make every effort to get the answer. Our room in the garden annex was basic and fairly clean. It was not big by any standard, but who spends a lot of time there? The best part is visiting with people from around the world who are staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arpclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Right in the heart of town. Very nice private rooms at a fair price. All staff have excellent English and give good independent advice. Nice mellow lounge and porch at the front to meet others and enjoy the free breakfast. If you are a light sleeper get a room towards the back away from the front porch because when they close the lounge at 10 everyone moves out onto the porch to finish their beers so noise picks up as the beer is consumed!

Room Tip: At the back away from from porch is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#11 of 36 in Santa Elena
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#6 of 36 in Santa Elena
405 reviews
0 mi away
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
#9 of 36 in Santa Elena
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $29 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing