We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hostel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I loved PSE: I got a single room in the annex building for $25. The rooms were impeccably clean and really cute, with stone-covered showers and hot water. The common areas are well-kept. They offer free breakfast (fruit or an egg burrito) at the taco stand next door (Taco Taco) which is excellent. As most places in CR, they have free coffee all day. But what I loved most was the staff: friendly, resourceful and really helpful and I felt unbiased. Thanks Shannon for the tours' recommendations and for the other travel tips! Totally worth staying here when in Santa Elena / Monteverde!

Room Tip: Annex Rooms are nicer and totally worth it price-wise especially if sharing the room in 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 721 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend visited Monteverde in mid October. As we had no reservations we just chose the best offer written in out Lonley Planet guide and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are standard, clean and cozy and the breakfast included is nice, though not large. Another advantage is the free coffee and tea, very useful during the cold season. But the best thing about this place - no doubt - is the staff. They spoke fluent English (which is quite rare around Costa Rica) and were really helpful when we came to decide about the activities around. The guest house has an overall atmosphere of friendliness and fun backpacking.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms avalible, both around the same size , at the time of our arrival their prices we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikehpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Some good point are: located close to the bus station, tea and coffee available all day long, free bananas in the kitchen, breakfast included, nice common area!

Disappointment: the accommodations are quite old, administrator Shanon probably was not in her best mood during our visit

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sok-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The five stars go mainly to the staff who couldn't have been more helpful. I arrived a broken man, having put my back out and with my suitcase literally falling apart. On arrival I was in such pain I couldn't even walk to a restaurant so Michael on reception drove me to one. The owners Ran and Shannon helped organize a Physio and Miguel who also works there fixed my bag at no charge. The staff go out of their way to help you and the rooms are comfortable and at reasonable rates.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Taffy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good hostel in the centre of town!
Pros: great information re activities available to you w very helpful staff, good location, great brekkie courtesy of taco taco next door, nice communal area, good kitchen facilities, clean rooms, HOT showers!!!! Near supermarkets and a pickup/drop off point for tours.
Cons: wifi was a bit dodgy in some rooms, bit old in areas... not much wrong.
I recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are gauranteed wifi. New rooms are only a couple $ extra and probs worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

we stayed for three nights and the best thing about this place is great information you get. they know a lot about the area and are not payed any bonus for referring guests to companies so you can trust them.
only one morning there was a middle-aged woman working at reception, not local, probably from the US and she was very unfriendly. she gave you the feeling, that you should not ask her anything and that she didn't want to talk to you. may be she had a bad day. all the other staff was very friendly and helpful.

the room was good, a bit noisy.

the kitchen is lacking knives!! otherwise it was fine to cook there, but it could be a bit cleaner, especially the cat food on the fridge doesn't necessarily have to be there,...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_to_travel1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The staff here is awesome, since we had limited time in Monteverde, they helped us maximize our time there by suggesting itineraries. Each recommendation was excellent. Their advice really made our stay in Costa Rica one to remember. I appreciate that all the staff was bilingual and it was evident that they all liked their jobs, and got along well with each other. My one recommendation is to stay in the new section of the hostel, the rooms are nice and clean, and worth the few extra bucks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 34 in Santa Elena
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $24 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing