We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really cool hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“really cool hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my friend loved pension Santa Elena! We found the atmosphere relaxed and very friendly. The people who worked there were really helpfull (especially diego!!) and they gave us good info about the different tours and activities. Our room was amazing and cheap, we each had a comfy double bed and we slept like babies :) Also there is a spacious kitchen and free coffe and breakfast each morning ! Loved this place, we would go back no problem !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Penelope-vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    205
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
280
113
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

A group of 5 of us study abroad students came from San Jose for the weekend (2 nights) and got a room with 4 beds and a private bathroom for $28 per person. The hostel gives a sense of community to it's visitors which is a comforting feeling for first-time tourists. Taco-Taco, the taco bar attached to the hostel, is delicious and they lobby plays a mix of alternative music to add to the laid-back atmosphere. The staff were always very friendly and offered unbiased information to help us make the most of our trip. I felt right at home and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the Pension Sanra Elena. It was centrally located in Monteverde, which made it very easy to get around. The front desk spent a long time with us going over things to do in the area and the common room was a fun place to hang out. Would definitely recommend for an easy, no hassle stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The laid-back atmosphere at Pension Santa Elena was one reason why I enjoyed Santa Elena/Monte Verde that much. The staff is very helpful in arranging trips and providing useful advice. You will meet lots of people there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We would highly recommend you stay here. 9/10. My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights in a private room with a private bathroom for $35/night. The hostel is very basic, yet very clean, and made us feel very comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful with local tours/attractions and pleasant to talk to! The hostel has a small kitchen open to every guest, which got cramped at times but has the essentials you need to prepare your own food. It also comes with free wi-fi and a free breakfast, which is absolutely delicious. There is a small taco stand just outside the hostel that provides the breakfast and serves food all day long. The food from here is quite good and reasonably priced for the hungry backpacker.

This hostel appeared to be the social hub for tourists as they have a small lobby/porch out front, which most backpackers within the town congregated to in the evenings. This front area has a fridge, which the hostel sells beer from, and they do not mind if you bring your own and keep it in there. Since the entire town seemed to shut down around 10pm, it was quite enjoyable having that gathering area to share a few drinks, some laughs and information with other backpackers, yet having a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZEB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were 2 adults, 2 teenage boys in a larger room in the new bit- perfect for us with own bathroom. The staff totally sorted us out for activities with lots of good info and we had a great time. Cool frontage right in town and close to all restaurants. Breakfast is from "TacoTaco" next door and was great. My son wanted lunch and dinner from there too! Relaxed place, very friendly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooleperson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is a real gem. The staff couldn't do more to help you out and gave unbiased information about activities and the area. There is a communal area and kitchen which gives a real backpacker vibe to the place. They cater to all budgets and there was even someone camping in the garden area! The location is amazing in the centre of town and close to the bus stops to the cloud forests. I really couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieandMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing