We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Da Bomb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Da Bomb”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Simply awesome deal for the money.Great vibe indeed and the host Ran was fantastic. It was our first hostel experience and we all loved it. Clean rooms great breakfast . can not ask for anything better in Monteverde area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    208
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
67
286
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Pension Santa Elena was my favorite hostel in Costa Rica. We were a group of 4 and stayed in room H8 with a private bathroom--HOT water and by far the best shower I had in Costa Rica. (I like it better than my shower at home and missed PSE as soon as I got to my next cold shower hostel.) The people who run PSE are super knowledgable and friendly. The guy from Austin, TX gives awesome ideas, tips, and advice. I booked two tours through him and he got us great rates. The hostel common area is comfortable and friendly with a Taco place next door; in fact you get awesome fruit and taco for breakfast there included in your room price! It's totally tasty and was the perfect way to start my day. I can't comment on the dorms since I didn't stay in them, but I know they were very affordable with breakfast! I only planned to stay two nights but I loved Monteverde and I know it's because I stayed at PSE

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuckerdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Santa Elena / Monteverde. The location is in the town and close to everything.
The staff are all incredibly friendly, welcomming and helpful.
I had a private room with bathroom in the original hostel (there are some newer rooms at the back). At $17 per night, it was the cheapest private room I had in my whole stay in Costa Rica. The room was fine. Small and clean. My only problem was that the floor in the bathroom (including the shower) was painted red and I had red soles of my feet for days! But that's only a tiny thing and was not a big deal.
I booked a coffee plantation tour (amazing!) and a cloud forest bridge tour through the hostel. They couldn't have been more helpful and I felt they gave me very good advice, not advice that would make them the most commission.
For example, the coffee tour was on the farm of a man who was part of a co-op. It's fair trade and helps the community. The commission for this tour is minimal. There is another coffee / chocolate tour you can do which is part of a big business where the hostel would get a much better commission but as they believe in the fair trade / co-op option, this is what they recommend. I really appreciated their honesty.
The breakfast was great and lovely to get something different. Tacos and fresh fruit.
I did have fish tacos from the taco bar one evening. They were ok. Cheap and cheerful!
I would highly recommend this hostel. Great staff and a lovely town.
Bring a jumper!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchy_feet1978_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I loved this place. I have never felt so welcomed by a staff. They personally sat us down and helped us plan our short stint in Santa elena and gave us invaluable info that couldn't be found in any guidebook. They were all so sincere, laid back and enthusiastic. I felt so at home. ALSO... The coffee flows like wine: free coffee all day every day and free breakfast! The adjoining taco stand was the best food I had in Costa Rica, for real. In the evenings when this sleepy little town mellowed out we would sit in the cozy little lobby and drink horchata with rum and play trivial pursuit. Fond memories.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I got a private room here for 2 nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is chilled. The room was perfect, clean and awesome hot showers which is great because it gets pretty cold here. My only negative is the bed in my room squeaked really loudly whenever you moved slightly. It didn't bother me but may have woken other guests!
Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stagmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My stay at la Pension Santa Elena was wonderful. The staff provided a level of service that I've never experienced in a hostel before. They were polite, charming, and regularly went out of their way to help and provide unbiased advice.

Best service I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of my favorite hostels I've ever stayed in! My travel partner and I shared a private room. It was cheap, clean, quiet, and cute. Diego helped us out a TON from travel recommendations to places to eat in town. He was SO friendly to us and everyone that walked in the door and told us about all of the great things to do in the area without seeming the least bit exasperated by repeating the same info constantly.
The common area was so cozy and welcoming. The wifi didn't work in our room ( and probably not in anyone elses either considering we all hung out in the community area) but it didn't bother me and I loved interacting with all of the other travelers.
The hostel sells single beers, has free coffee all day, gives you a free breakfast coupon for the delicious tico taco stand next door, and has dogs hanging out all day. What more could you ask for?
They also have a locked gate and a security guard at night. Such a great place!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Santa Elena

Property: Pension Santa Elena
Address: Al Sureste Banco Nacional en El Corazon de Santa Elena 250 m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Santa Elena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to "exceed our guests' expectations of a Travelers Hotel by providing outstanding services and dependable information. We commit resources and time to preserving the values and traditions of our communities." Pure Life...Pure Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Santa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Santa Elena Hotel Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing