We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place in Santa Elena”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco Taco

Taco Taco
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tico-Mex: A Unique blend of Tex-Mex spice and local fresh ingredients. Great food does not have to come from great distances. Take what you love and make it with what you have! Our Commitments: Fresh food prepared when you order! Local ingredients whenever possible! Small foot print! Good social stewardship! Competitive employment opportunities, and excellent customer service! We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products! If we don't meet your expectations, please let us know and we make it right! Big Food! Big Love!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place in Santa Elena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were in Santa Elena for 3 days and ate there twice. Would have been more if we found it earlier. Worth your time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    349
    120
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant tex-mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Don't let the long lunchtime queues put you off - this is the best place to eat in Santa Elena. It's not quite up to my high standards but the ingredients are good and the choices are broad. Great veggie options too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akakakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a perfect lunch spot. The vegetarian and pork tacos were excellent, and for a great price! We also got a side of chips and guac, which was very good too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrieandJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's not a traditional burrito or taco. I have had my share of Mexican food, in Mexico, and this is hardly like authentic Mexican food as other reviewers have claimed. It was good but it certainly wasn't the best burrito ever. I would say it's more like Tex-Mex. The burritos / tacos were reasonably priced. The other stuff was over-priced. The chips and guacamole was $4!

For those with young kids, it's not ideal. The seating is right on the street. The seats and tables are quite wobbly and my kids were a bit unstable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best tacos I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The title is pretty much how I feel about this place. Cheap, great service and the food is as tasty as in any expensive restaurant in Santa Elena. The portions are big, lots of options for vegetarians and meat-eaters. The guacamole was the best I've ever had, ask for extra!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Taco also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Taco Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing