We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience Esteban Daily Guided Tours
from $75.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
478
11
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
478
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curi cancha night tour his knowledge bird guide costa rica great guide private tour spotting scope resplendent quetzal local birds morning hike nature tour the reserve bird species bird watching tour spider monkeys leaf cutter ants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 492 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2015

Esteban is awesome. As a scientist, I like getting down to the nitty-gritty, and Esteban is full of wisdom and expertise. We went on two great hikes, one during the day at Monteverde and the other nearby at night. Both were exceptional. Esteban grew up in the area, and worked for the Reserve before breaking out on his own. He's warm, interesting, and fun to be around. I highly recommend him.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban M, Owner at Esteban Daily Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Thank you very much for posting a review, I'm glad to know you enjoyed.

Best

Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

There are a lot of places to experience in the world, and given our modest resources, we had only planned to visit Costa Rica once. But top quality guides like Esteban showed us a country far too special for one trip. Even before we met him, Esteban responded to our questions and scheduling needs with rare care and concern. He met us at our bed and breakfast, and then answered our myriad of pesky questions about Costa Rican culture, ecology, and even politics (including tourism impacts: the good, the bad, and the very complicated) with frankness and insight. As for the tour, note that wilderness does not work on a tourist's schedule. You are not guaranteed to see anything on any given hike, but an expert guide is able to spot things that the even moderately untrained eye simply will not. I mean, REALLY will not. Esteban made absolutely sure that we experienced the highlights that were present on our tour night. He knew where the sloths and the kinkajous are likely to be. Plus, he partners with a set of other guides who share information about wildlife movement throughout the preserve. A few animals we saw included the orange knee tarantula, the aforementioned kinkajou, a sloth, armadillos, a porcupine (did you know that Central American porcupines have prehensile tales?), and a huge and long-established leaf-cutter ant colony. This does not mean that you will see the same things, but he'll be sure that you see what's present at any given time. Most importantly, Esteban deepened our understanding of all of these creatures and our comprehension of their roles in the overall rainforest ecosystem. And birders take heed: they are one of Esteban's specialties. Esteban is passionate about conserving Costa Rica's wild places and he inspires the best from his visitors by assuming that they are as curious and engaged in learning about these places and creatures as he is. We hope that many others will be able to learn from Esteban and to experience Costa Rica with him as a guide. Also, the night tour is especially fun with several guides alerting each other by radio about fresh wildlife sightings. Be prepared to run and hop over tree roots a bit. Everything in Costa Rica is in perpetual motion, and you must scurry to catch a glimpse of other things that scurry. Truly memorable.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban M, Owner at Esteban Daily Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, I'm glad to know you enjoyed the night tour.
It would be a pleasure to take you touring again.

Best

Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2015

We had a great time with Esteban. He picked us up at our hotel and we went to the Monteverde Reserve. He took the time to ask us what we were interested in and catered to that. One of our goals was to see a Quetzal and he made it happen...something that is not easy or guaranteed! Esteban is passionate about birds, wildlife, and plants and it shows by his enthusiasm to share it with you as well as get you the opportunity to see it firsthand. His excitement is contagious and we were entertained and satisfied throughout the tour. Believe the reviews, he's the real deal, and we recommend him wholeheartedly.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Elisif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban M, Owner at Esteban Daily Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing me as your guide in Monteverde.
I'm glad to know that you enjoyed the walk.

Best regards

Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2015

We chose to have him guide us for a day @ Arenal and two days in Monteverde. He made the whole thing so easy and he drove all the way from Monteverde to Arenal for the first day (over 2.5 hrs. in the dark!). He was sitting @ the rendezvous waiting for us! I'm glad to say we were on time : ) Long story short we spent 3 unbelievable days with Esteban, who showed us species after species, most of which we'd of missed on are own. He's not only a great naturalist and birder but his people skills are tops. He got to know everyone in the group and developed a relationship with each and with the group as a whole. Plus he catered to our specific wants and needs as photographers. I couldn't have made a better choice! - "go with your gut"

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank PhotoGuide-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban M, Owner at Esteban Daily Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Thank you so much for your feedback, I'm happy to know you enjoyed my tours.
I would love to take you touring around again, let me know if you come back.
Best

Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

We did the nature morning hike in the Monteverde Reserve and a night hike at Santamaria's. Though the weather was challenging, with strong winds and rains, Esteban did miracles, spotting different wildlife and explaining everything while keeping us engaged for a few hours, which is not an easy task, when you bring pre-teens with you. We spotted coatimundi, sloth, quetzal, fire ants, tarantulas, snakes, frogs, lizards, walking sticks, hummingbirds and many other. I can't recommend Esteban enough. Having doubts? Don't. He is your man!

Thank blumidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban M, Owner at Esteban Daily Guided Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2015

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review, for me is really important to know that people enjoy and learn as much as possible in my tours.

Best regards

Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews