We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best birding guide in Monteverde”

Esteban Daily Guided Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nature guided customized tours through the most well known reserves in Monteverde as well as other birding destinations in Costa Rica, book with Esteban you wont go wrong.
Glenview
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Best birding guide in Monteverde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Chris and I have birdied with Esteban the last 3 years in a row. He has guided us in Monteverde, Bosque Nubosos de Santa Elena, Monte Tenorio, Heliconia Lodge, Rio Celeste and Ca~no Negro. Coupled with excellent English, his knowledge of the flora and fauna of all these areas is amazing. Add humor and energy, both of which qualities he has in abundance, and you have the perfect guide,
Brendan J McCooey

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ardoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guide & friend!! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I met Esteban in September 2010 when he was working for the reserve in Monteverde and we kept in touch and I looked him up when I was planning my return trip with my parents in September 2012. He was no longer guiding at the park but conducting his own tours. Esteban is professional, friendly, patient and very knowledgeable! I would highly recommend him as a guide while visiting Monteverde. He can spot things in nature that could easily be missed by the untrained eye. He will try his best to locate for you anything you might desire to see.

We did both a morning day tour and a night tour with Esteban. Both were great and highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jahcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“2 - Quetzals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent day with Esteban - we even saw 2 - Quetzals. Esteban not only showed us a tremendous amount of birds and wildlife but he is also very knowledge about the history of the Monteverde. It was a great day! I would highly recommend Esteban as a guide.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Early wake-up but we don't forget this tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Together with my wife we were with Esteban on Jan 21th in the Valey en the Forest of Monteverde and the spottingresults incl. the Quetsal were super!!
The information, the attitude and enthousiasm great and we spent more time than we thought at the beginning.
A fantastic morning with a great guide, very recommendable!
Leo and Marga Schutter, Holanda

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A Superb Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Estaban took us into the Monteverde Cloud Forest Preserve about 10 days ago. His English is excellent, and he was very sensitive to our interests. He was very knowledgeable about the flora, birds, insects and other fauna we saw. His explanations were clear and interesting. He also seemed to have a very good relationship with other guides, and their sharing of observations was very useful. Esteban has a nice enthusiasm for what he does and is very likeable.

Es dificil para mi escribir mas porque no entiendo las preguntas abajo. Mi espanol es mal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esteban Daily Guided Tours also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Esteban Daily Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing