We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay with our 4 year old”
Review of Arco Iris Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arco Iris Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Casa in late April with our 4 year old son. The kitchen, garden, animals on property (horses, chickens, dogs, cats), short hiking trails, the quick 1 min walk into town and the helpful and friendly staff made it a great 3 days for us. At $7 for breakfast we hesitated especially since we had a kitchen in the house but the food prices in Monteverde are high and much of the breakfast comes from the property-- eggs, tomatoes, fruits, etc-- a perfect farm to table meal. Also, they make scrambled eggs or fried eggs in addition to the buffet and offer hot cocoa for the kids-- ours was in heaven. As we looked around Monteverde, we were so happy that we choose Arco Iris as it is right in town but very private and the staff can't be beat.

Room Tip: The Casa is great for families, it has two bedrooms with each with a queen bed, a beautiful kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 698 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed two nights here and found it very comfortable. We were staying in The House at the top of the beautiful gardens. From the terrace we had a wonderful view over the forest and it was perfect to sit there and bird watch. The rooms were clean and well equipped. Breakfast was delicious and very good value.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This truly was my best find for my 10 day journey in Costa Rica! For $88 per night, you couldn't find a cleaner, quiter, walk to town spot than this. Tucked back in behind the restaurant Morphos, on a quiet hill with chairs to relax in, this was a peaceful spot. The people were very helpful too- restaurant recommendations, activities, and driving directions. The rooms were spacious, clean and even had two beds. A bargain for what you got!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just a very pretty property in the midst of Santa Elena and the Monteverde area. The room was clean and quaint country like with all the natural woodwork. We had our own private small porch that had a view of the beautiful hilly grounds. The property felt family run and very personal. Best for us was being able to walk off the property and right into the town center for restaurants, tours, and shopping. Great value ,too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

this was our introduction to Costa Rica. Wonderful, beautiful place with an excellent staff who will help arrange tours, taxis, recommend places to eat etc. The grounds are beautiful with lots of great birds. We liked being able to walk to many places in town. It is only a block or two from the heart of town but feels out of the way. the breakfast was well worth the extra cost and kept us going all day.
we used Costa rica shuttle to transport us to and from San Jose. taxis and buses were easy to use and we did not miss having car.
can't wait to go back.
rita
san antonio texas

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rita n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was a great place to stay in the Monteverde area. The hotel grounds were very pretty with fruit trees, lounge chairs, swings, etc. We stayed in room that had a loft where the second bed was and a large balcony that was a nice place to relax. The room was a little small but that was not an issue at all. The hotel was right in Santa Elena so you could walk to places to eat very easily. The staff was really friendly and helpful, they recommended a hike that ended up being our favorite activity of Costa Rica. The breakfast was ok, it did the job but wasn't fantastic. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife, two friends and I just spent two nights at this family run hotel and absolutely loved the place, in particular the very scenic location on a hill overlooking the entire Monteverde area. We appreciated the comfortable wooden bungalows and the healthy breakfast featuring natural fruit juices, home grown vegetables and seasonal fruits, home made bread and cakes (a super treat with one of their home made jellies) eggs al gusto and a super coffee.

While we were sitting on the porch of our bungalow in the early morning we saw probably more birds and other wildlife than on our tours in Monteverde! including the cloud forest. Special credit should be given to the very helpful and friendly multilingual staff of the Arco Iris and their free WiFi throughout the hotel area. Should you plan to stay in Monteverde be sure to make your reservation early as rooms and bungalows are limited.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans-Juergen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 20 in Monteverde
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,413 reviews
0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 36 in Santa Elena
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco Iris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Iris Lodge

Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $41 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arco Iris Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arco Iris Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel Santa Elena
Arco Iris Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing