We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Arco Iris Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arco Iris Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a lovely place with beautiful gardens but still in the town of Santa Elena. We had room 11 that I would highly recommend. This room is up a few steps but worth it for the view and the tranquility. Breakfast was extra but very good. The lodge is up a steep hill from the town but is only a 5 minute walk from the centre with numerous restaurants. We had booked a budget room 7 but changed when we arrived. I did not get to see the budget room but it was in a very dark corner so I don't think it compared with room 11.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZIGBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    184
    35
    7
    4
See reviews for
178
293
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Not only was this place beautiful, but it was also exceptionally peaceful…other than an occasional dog barking. The bungalows were clean, nicely appointed, comfortable in a rustic sort of way. I would definitely go back. I booked it through Gecko Trail Adventures.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

One of the best places I stayed at in CR - mainly for the very helpful staff who worked there - set us up very quickly and efficiently - A ++
Beautiful scenery and the rooms were made of gorgeous wood! Although Monteverdi is very windy we still had a lovely time! Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Extremely helpful, professional, and welcoming staff. Beautiful grounds and super clean, wonderful accommodations. Good breakfast with fantastic fresh fruit. Lovely small hike around lodge. Near many beautiful parks, and staff will guide you based on what you like to do towards the best thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanadshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This b&b is made up of several building placed around lovely gardens on a hillside right in the center of Santa Elena. It's a five-minute walk to the commercial center. They serve a great, healthy, varied buffet breakfast, with freshly prepared eggs if you desire. But that breakfast does cost a bit extra. The people working reception are helpful and knowledgeable in arranging for tours of the various Monte Verde reserves and adventure parks. We, kind of unintentionally, reserved the House, a two-bedroom house with a full kitchen/great room at the very highest point on the property. It was much more than two of us, a couple, needed, but we didn't realize that until we got there. I'm sure that any of the standard rooms would have been sufficient. But once we were there, they would let us downgrade from the House because they said they had, because of our reservation, turned down other possible guests for this largest accommodation. And I guess I can understand that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OaklandTraveler1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Located in the busy centre of Santa Elena Arco Iris´s cabins are scattered in a beautiful garden- quiet and peaceful just 50m away from the crowds. Although that close to restaurants and shopping malls you feel like in another world.
We had booked a superior room, but the only difference to a standard room seems to be a second floor- with 2 more beds. So for a couple a superior room doesn´t make a lot of sense ;-). And standard rooms are located in the higher parts of the gardens- with better views.
Staff at reception highly motivated and helpful in organizing e.g. night walks or private guide for Monteverde reserve- thanks once again, guys!!
If you pass by the horse stables in the back of the garden (watch out for white faced capuchins), a short steep 15min- trail starts there up to a hill- that belongs to Arco Iris- with great views of peninsula Nicoya and pacific ocean.
Just next door to Arco Iris is an orchid- garden with guided tours- highly recommended!
If on the one hand you want to stay close to "downtown" Santa Elena with it´s lots of good restaurants and on the other hand love tranquility- you won´t find a better place in Santa Elena.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The only place I can imagine staying in the MonteVerde area is Arco Iris Lodge.. Private cabins, comfortable and clean, a great breakfast to start your day, centrally located to dining and shopping and the most accommodating staff you could ask for.. Most tours pick up in the Arco Iris Lodge parking lot.. Getting to and from the lodge is a challenge, but worth the effort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco Iris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Iris Lodge

Property: Arco Iris Lodge
Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arco Iris Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel Santa Elena
Arco Iris Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing