We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arco Iris Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arco Iris Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Santa Elena, just a short walk to lots of restaurants, coffee shops etc. The setting was fantastic with a number of cabins around the property with trails in the grounds, we were accompanied by one of the hotel's dogs when we walked these, one leading to a great viewing point out to to the ocean. Rooms were rustic and comfortable with blankets (it cools down at night) and a wonderful rainfall shower. Staff on reception were great and speak several languages, they helped us book a night wildlife tour on the day of our arrival and a canopy tour - both great value. We also book the jeep-boat-jeep connection to La Fortuna through the hotel at a bargain $25 (the cheapest offer I saw). Breakfast was a well spent $7 with meats, cheese, eggs cooked to order, fruit, cereals, breads and great coffee. The cafe at the foot of the hill (part of the orchid gardens) also serves a fantastic traditional Costa Rican coffee and lovely French toast with blackberry sauce (worth the trip). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    176
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
172
284
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pros
- Rooms located in private "cottages"
- Nice bathroom with rainfall shower and lots of space
- Charming "cabin like" feeling in the room
- Decent mattress and bed
- Cozy and clean
- Free access to the Internet in lobby
- Located in the middle of the city, but in a nice private area with beautiful grounds
- Monkeys spotted climbing on the roof tops!
- Helpful staff
- Tours can be booked directly with the hotel
Cons
- Short walk up a steep hill
- Breakfast not included
- No pool, but cold when we were there so it didn't matter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is very basic in furnishings but lots of space, and you aren't in your room very long and you aren't paying that much. The grounds are very pleasant and the breakfast is very nice. All the restaurants they suggested were within walking distance and were very good. We arrived around noon, not having had lunch, and wanted to do the coffee tour, the night tour, and then the next day, a hike in the rainforest, before being picked up at 2 to go to the next hotel. They arranged it all! amazing! We went off for lunch and upon our return, we were off. The coffee/chocolate/sugar cane tour was a lot of fun, and then we were taken from there to the night tour, where we saw amazing animals. The next morning we went on a walk through the cloud forest. Saw lots, and got back a little later than checkout. Then off for lunch and back just in time for our trip to the next hotel, also arranged by this hotel.
To top it off, I lost a sweater (wrapped around my waist and lost in the excitement out on the trail) on the night walk. When I realized it was gone, I asked the hotel to check to see if my sweater had turned up,but it hadn't. Later on our trip, we got an email that the sweater had turned up and that they were sending it to our home in Pennsylvania.
Definitely would stay there again. We felt very taken care of. Also learned how to choose a good lichee and how to eat it which was useful at the next hotel where they had them out for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Arco Iris Lodge is conveniently located in the heart of Santa Elena, yet despite being so central, it's set off the road and thereby avoids road noise. It's a haven, surrounded by trees, once on the property you feel as if you're in your own world. The buildings are all wood and are tasteful and cozy. I want to transport one of their cabins back to the US and live in it... The breakfast is delicious, definitely add it onto your bill! The staff was all very friendly as well, they are available and willing to help book tours, adventures and share restaurant recommendations.

I really enjoyed my stay at Arco Iris!

Room Tip: If you can, avoid room 20. We stayed there, it's located below two other rooms and you can defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommydphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The best hotel I have ever stayed at. Staff is incredible and friendly, everyone is amazing, the restaurant has monkeys in the morning that come up to the window to eat plantains, the rooms are clean and the shower is good. The location is perfect (go to Morpho's, literally 50m from our hotel room, for an amazing dinner), and they have a computer with complementary internet. I could not rate this place any higher than the best, it's an eco-lodge in a class of its own. They have a beautiful garden too, if you want to take a stroll.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked pretty good to me, don't sweat it too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends for 3 nights. Our cabin was one of the ones nearer the top of the hill. It was lovely and clean. Bathroom was quite modern and handwash smelt really nice.

Breakfast was simple, everything you needed but adequate. Eggs were available to cook to order.

Staff were friendly and attentive.

Monkeys joined us for breakfast one day. That was a bonus.

There is a water fountain in reception area that you can fill up your water bottles for free.

It's a shame the town is so small and it gets VERY windy, otherwise I would have stayed a lot longer. The wind sometimes is so strong it feels like the cabin is going to be blown away!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosey5nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful lodge in early December. The staff was fantastic and the cabins were also great. The property is worth exploring especially the vegetable garden just outside the restaurant. All of the cabins are set apart and the lawn/garden is a nice place to sit and relax. We noticed that our room didn't have either an ac or heating. Not necessary as the temperature is pleasant all year around. Breakfast buffet for $7 was unbelievable. Great tropical fruits, juices, eggs and home baked breads. Since it is right in the center of town there are places very nearby to eat although there is not much else in the town. The reason for coming is of course the cloud forest. Right next door is an orchid garden that was amazing and up the street a short distance was Taco Taco for inexpensive, filling and delicious tacos and burritos. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Monteverde reserve. Transportation to the reserve or other attractions generally come directly to the hotel to pick you up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arco Iris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Iris Lodge

Property: Arco Iris Lodge
Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arco Iris Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel Santa Elena
Arco Iris Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing