We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the drive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montana Monteverde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel took us almost 41/2 hours of driving with a GPS, to get there. We still had to stop and ask for directions the GPS took us down dirt roads and into a very poor run down part of town. and announced we had reached our destination.

The hotel was okay, it had lovely views, but not much else. If I had known it took so long to drive too, on many unpaved roads, I would have passed on this hotel, and stayed on in Arenal.

The balcony was the best part of the room, The big bath tub looked inviting, after the climbing of the stairs at the waterfall., but it was dirty. I tried to clean it but it was just to scummy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    96
    80
    23
    11
See reviews for
54
109
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The view was great, breakfast was decent, and the staff were incredibly helpful but the "gardens" and walkways were poorly marked, the room semi-clean, and WIFI unavailable in the rooms. The shower was touchy and the temperature in the rooms were not comfortable at night - no way to regulate it. The private balcony and view were the highlights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked this hotel with a tour group. The room is clean, ok views, breakfast is fine. Dinner food was nothing special .... I wish we had gone in to the town instead. The only problem was the moths .... They are everywhere even inside the rooms. No air conditioning in the rooms. Free WIFI in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a horrific car journey to Monteverde the Hotel was relaxing haven. The rooms are clean comfortable well appointed. However the WiFi only works in the lobby and the hotels looks tired or at least not well treated. Their are no amenities and the bar was not open. The dining room was empty and not set up for guests dining as if they did not really expect anyone to stay there to eat. A few local restaurants are close but a cheap cab ride into St. Elena is worth the effort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmcc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at this hotel as part of a Gate1 Travel Fly & Drive package - which worked very well for our party of 10. After driving up to Monteverde on those awful roads, we were pleasantly surprised at the Hotel Montana. The rooms were lovely with a small balcony. The lobby and surroundings were very pleasant. There was no AC, but none was needed. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was so helpful in finding us tours, etc. In fact the staff was probably the nicest we encountered on our trip in CR. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
258 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Good:
Incredible views of the surrounding country. you really couldn't ask for a better view of the Punta Arenas area.

Also, if you are wanting to see the Cloud Rain Forest or do some Ziplining, this is an excellent central location.

The tubs are huge, perfect for two people if one was on a honeymoon

The Bad:
The beds are hard as rocks. Bring a comforter with you if you don't like hard beds
No pool
The food is mediocre and a bit overpriced in my opinion.
Forget about the bar. Way overpriced

I have heard that Tramonti is a very good place to eat though we didnt get a chance to try it.
Wouid I stay here again..probably

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights visiting the Monteverde area. Good basic rooms, good size. WiFi only worked in lobby area. Try and stay in the main building, the other rooms can be far away and a uphill walk and difficult on rainy days. The staff was friendly and courteous. The hotels has no other amenities, no pool, gift shop, etc. As stated above, nice basic property, but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Property: Hotel Montana Monteverde
Address: Este Escuela Rafael Arguedas 200 | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing