We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We traveled to Costa Rica on family vacation, and stayed at Hotel Montana in Monteverde. For us, the staff really made the hotel. They were incredibly helpful, both to those of us who spoke Spanish and those who did not. They recommended out-of-the way tours and experiences for which we were grateful. Everyone was very friendly. We did have difficulty in one of our hotels with the toilet plumbing (it overflowed on its first flush) but this problem was addressed quickly. If the toilet seat remained closed and the door to the bathroom shut, a chlorine-smell that emanated from the toilet could not be detected. The rooms were clean, and the little decks were charming. The main facility was very nice, and the restaurant was relatively good. Again, the restaurant staff were great. Breakfast was fair (a normal, continental breakfast). They were happy to accommodate dietary needs. Every area was clean, orderly, and charming, and the views were very nice. It was great to see the Pacific Ocean from our back door!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2008

We were travelling through Monteverde and found this hotel and stayed for 1 night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had arrived at 5.15 pm and the receptionist told us there was a night walk through the nearby forest at 5.30 if we wanted to go. We did and it was one of the best adventures we had while in Costa Rica. The guide, Juan Carlos, was very knowledgeable and showed us lots of amazing animals, Sloth, leaf cutter ants, tarantulas, frogs and lots more. The room was large and clean with a king size bed, although the bed was hard. Great view of the forest from the balcony. The decor was a bit dated, the huge bath tub was dark green! The hotel is in a good location, we walked up the road to a really good Tapas Bar for dinner. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank skitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Clearly Hotel de Montana has changed in just the past 2 months, because some of the comments in other reviews just aren't true anymore. Our room was lovely - seemed new; roomy, high ceilings, large comfortable beds. One whole wall was windows, and there was a patio with chairs so we could relax outside and enjoy the fabulous view over the bay .
The breakfast was excellent, with omelets made to order, as well as other choices.
Also, it was a central location - we walked everywhere, to some great restaurants, the Butterfly Garden, and the nature preserve with the Night Walks.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lschroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We stayed at Montana Monteverde in November for 2 nights in room 23. We chose this hotel because all of our other choices were booked – so basically we had no choice! Rather than writing paragraphs about this place, I’ll just list out the pros and cons:

Pros
- The location is very close to Santa Elena and a taxi to most places was $1,000 - $2,000 colons
- The view from the balcony is stunning. The sunsets are out of this world and seeing the clouds go by so quickly is quite a sight.
- The staff at the front desk is really helpful with tours and restaurant recommendations.

Cons
- The rooms need upgrading. The mattresses were hard, the bedding is from the 70’s, the wood paneling has to go and for some reason there were candles in the room & bathroom but no candle holder!
- The sliding door did not shut all the way so we had many different unwelcome creepy little visitors come into our room!
- Breakfast is inadequate – consisted of only bread pudding & fruit. People were circling the restaurant looking for more food. After the first day, we started eating our breakfast somewhere else.

I wouldn’t stay here again unless they fix up the rooms. Hope the review is helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rgirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I think this hotel has the potential for being a decent hotel. It was cheap and the rooms were situated on a side of a hill, affording great views if the fog ever clears, but the rooms seemed a bit old. The furniture has seen better days and the lock to the room was not meant to keep anybody out. The bathroom had mildey walls and the ceiling was moldy, making shower time a treat as we did everything we could not to make contact with the walls and our eyes looking ahead instead of up. Its location was 1km outside of Santa Elena which is a bit inconvenient. It does have a restaurant on-site but personally, I rather have more food options.

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed at Montana Monteverde for two nights during our recent trip to Costa Rica. We were pleasantly surprised with how wonderful this place was. We had one of the deluxe rooms with a killer view of the mountains and surrounding forests. On a clear day, you could even see the Nicoya Pennisula.

Our room was very spacious and very clean. The balcony was a great bonus as was the bathroom with the jacuzzi tub.

Overall, we found the service here to be extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. They were patient with my Spanish and spoke to me in Spanish (which I wanted them to since I'm learning the language) even though all of the staff seemed to have a good command of the English language.

My husband and I walked the hotel's private trails on both days we were there. They were beautiful and we saw lots of birds and two mammals (the agouti and the coati). Since the trails are not heavily used, I think we were almost more likely to see animals there than in the cloud forests.

We ate in the restaurant one night and found the food and service to be very good. The meal was not the best one we had on our trip to Costa Rica but it was very good for the price, kind of food we ordered and level of service. I would recommend the restaurant if you are tired and don't want to go to walk to another place. While we were there, we also enjoyed eating at Morpho's (in Santa Elena proper; very good casados), Flor de Vida (veggie restaurant within walking distance of the hotel); and Pizzeria Johnny (good pizza next to Flor de Vida).

During our time in Monteverde, we choose to visit the Santa Elena Reserve which we had read is quieter than Monteverde. We found that to be true and would recommend Santa Elena to anyone who is simply interested in nature and not so much adventure (i.e. zip lines). We booked our tour directly through the local high school (Santa Elena Reserve is run by the local high school and all benefits go to the high school). If you have some command of the Spanish language, I recommend doing this. Others on our tour booked through local tour companies. There are plenty of opportunities to do canopy tours and zip lines in Monteverde if that is your thing. That stuff seemed very "Disney World" to us so we skipped it and are glad we did.

Overall, despite the bumpy roads, we would return to Monteverde in a heartbeat and, without question, we would stay at Hotel Montana Monteverde again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSMDcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

i stayed here for three nights in april and it was a very pleasant stay. here are the pros and cons:

pros:
- i stayed in one of the single level rooms near the bottom of the hill, and my view of the forest and pond below were unobstructed by other units and amazing to look at. there's also a view of what i believe was the nicoya peninsula from the top of the hill (e.g. the dining hall)
- like every hotel i stayed at in costa rica, the walls are made of concrete, so it's very quiet in the rooms.
- the hotel has its own forest reserve about five minutes' walk from the main buildings with a trail you can hike.
- the rooms are huge for the price you pay

cons:
- my room was somewhat infested with small creatures, including: german cockroaches(dozens), oriental cockroaches(one), large wolf spiders(two or three), and even one very-angry-to-be-flushed-down-toilet scorpion, which i found in the bathtub, the first night. because of this i had some trouble sleeping the first night due to an imagined sensation there were bugs crawling on my legs, but it didn't "bug" me the rest of my stay. I had problems with ants and geckos at other hotels, but never had any cockroaches, spiders, or scorpions at any of the other hotels i stayed in.

I would highly recommend this hotel, all things considered.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jacksonlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Country Lodge
Monteverde Country Lodge
#6 of 7 in Santa Elena
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Monteverde

Address: Este Escuela Rafael Arguedas 200 | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: $84 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Pacific Province of Puntarenas at 4.500 Feet above the sea level, Hotel de Montana Monteverde offers 42 comfortable rooms as well as a Jacuzzi, Sauna, Conference Room,internet, Bar and Restaurant which offers the special flavor and charm of home cooked Costa Rican cuisine.Adjacent to the hotel is a 15-hacres private forest, offering excellent view and trails, including a small pond for the guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montana Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Monteverde Hotel
Montana Monteverde Santa Elena
Hotel Montana Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing