We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Learning”

Monteverde Frog Pond
Ranked #10 of 18 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun and Learning”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our tour through the frogs of Costa Rica! Our guide was very knowledgeable and you could tell he loved the frogs, he was involved in creating some of the environments they stayed in. We returned for the evening viewing and made a game of finding all the frogs in each display. They were much easier to see in the evening but both tours are valuable and gave us a great respect for other guides who could spot these little creatures in the forests. Wow! Don't miss this attraction, you will learn so much and all the staff is so kind and helpful! The gift shop has some great items as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    85
    32
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay visit”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We visited this morning. Although they said it was open at 9am. We couldn't get a tour until 9:30 and you can't go in on your own. It cost $23 usd/person for the frog and butterfly tours. We did not think this was worth the price paid. We had a guide that was new and did not know all of the names and info on the specimens. Still we did see frogs and some were pretty cool.

Helpful?
Thank Tammy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you're in the area, you should definitely stop by the Frog Pond. They have several species of frogs and the guides are extremely passionate about them. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny. They are able to point out the frogs to you using a small flashlight, and this is the only way you'll be able to see, as when I went it was night out (best time to go) and you can't see anything in front of you, so be careful walking around in there (stick close to the guide). There is also a small gift shop there in case you wanted to purchase anything. One thing to know is that if you bring your camera, you need an infrared flash because no flash photography is allowed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephanieg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very nice exhibit, with knowledgible guides. Ticket allows two visits, one day, and one evening. This allows viewing day and nocturnal frogs.
Recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank YvonneToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best selection of frogs”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was the best collection of frogs we saw while in Costa Rica. The guide we had made it much more enjoyable, as he found a lot of the elusive ones and had lots of information to share on their living habits.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank genoajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Frog Pond also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Frog Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing