We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit At Night”

Monteverde Frog Pond
Ranked #10 of 18 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit At Night”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were given a tip to visit this place at night when the frogs are more active - they couldn't have been more right! You get a guided tour by flash light and see so many more frogs! Great for nature lovers and kids!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    84
    32
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good for Frog Lovers, but go at night!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I visited the Monteverde Ranario in the afternoon. Please be aware that they have more activities than just the frog viewing, but each will cost you. The prices have also recently gone up.
One very good thing about the Ranario is that if you come in the daytime, you can keep your ticket and come back at night. This is exactly what we did. The frogs are much more active at night, so you will get a better chance to see some of the shy frogs.
There are a ton of fairly large terrariums with many species of frogs, from toads, to poison darts, to the red eyed tree frog. The frogs seem to be well taken care of, and the facilities are well kept. The area is in a green house with cement floors, for the most part, so no muck or hiking.
Photography is encouraged, but be aware that flash photography WILL blind the frogs, so even if you go at night, use a flashlight, not a camera flash, it is not just the light, but the quick flash that can damage the frogs' vision. We were not told this by the Ranario employees, we learned it later on and were pretty upset.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SionnanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rip-off -- stay away”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We came here to see the butterflies, which can be found in five houses on the property.

There were no butterflies in the first house, some in the second, none in the third, a few in the fourth, and a dozen of one species in the fifth house.

The staff must have felt bad for charging us so much money to see so little, so they let us into the insect area for free. That was a major disappointment as well -- other than a dozen live insects, the rest are in display cases.

Some reviews here are saying that the price of admission included a guide, but we were never offered a guide.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“frogs and butterflies”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to see the frogs, and ended up seeing frogs, then bugs, then butterflies. The guides were so knowledgeable that what we thought would be a quick 30 minute visit turned into 1.5 hours. It was hard to tell them that we didnt need SO much information!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
425 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Interesting, but expensive for what you get”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I spent an hour or two here while we were in Monteverde. Our tour included the butterflies, the frogs (which were mostly asleep) and the insects (most of them dead and in glass display cases). We had a great guide, David, to show us around, but I still came away feeling like I had an average experience, especially as we paid over $100 for four people. My recomomendation, if you want to shell out the money, is to come later in the day when the frogs are up and about.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Frog Pond also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Frog Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing