We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome tour!”

Monteverde Frog Pond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

The tours run regularly and don't cost any more. Wait for one. It's well worth it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ridiculousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    82
    32
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Admittedly we din't read much about this before we arrived, but we expected to see at least some frogs in an actual pond, and not only through glass walls. For what you get, it's way overpriced. Suitable only for those with more than average interest in frogs.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExciteMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun learning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This place allows you two visits, the first one is guided. Our guide was really engaging and told us a lot about the different species of frog in Costa Rica. We then came back after dark to see all the frogs that become active at night. It's an inexpensive way to spend an evening and it was very informative and fun playing "find the frogs"!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ranario (frog pond)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The guide was extremely informative. She could snap her fingers in a way that ilicited the response of a certain type of frog. My attempts of doing what she did, failed. Nonetheless, I had fun trying every chance I could on the trip. We went in the late afternoon/evening time and was able to catch the activity of the daytime and nighttime frogs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The guide was great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

If you want to go there, do it at dusk as the frog are mostly active during the night. The guided tour was really interesting as our guide was passionate about the frogs and informed us about all the distinction and the particularities of every species. I was with my wife and we tough this could be a great activity for kids as well.

Helpful?
Thank MrWebb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Frog Pond also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Frog Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing