We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guide was great and informative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Orchid Garden

Monteverde Orchid Garden
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Orchid Garden is a place where you can enjoy beauty that is found in the marvelous world of orchids. Our garden has a large collection of orchids; we have more than 425 different species. You can find species that are endemic to Monteverde, and a collection of miniature orchids, including the smallest one in the world. We offer guided walks both in English and Spanish. We are in a great location in down town Santa Elena.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Guide was great and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

You are used to seeing these GIANT commercial orchids. This place has some of those... but more amazingly hundreds of other smaller flowers. Had no idea there were so many orchids in so many shapes and sized. Totally worth the $10 entry fee. Watch out for the lazy dachshund that likes to lie right where you wanna walk!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreeksmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    115
    28
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Overpriced at $10 for how much there is to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were done in 10 minutes. Very limited flowers in June. Should charge less for what you see. Thought the other sights around town were auch better value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“View the smallest orchids in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A beautiful stroll through this garden where the smallest orchids in the world grow in peace. Must love flowers!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dupont T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got a very detailed tour of the gardens which was helpful since the orchids are very tiny. It was looking at another world. Hard to believe these amazing plants are out there. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the garden. Please know that the orchids are minature...beautiful...but tiny

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cineroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A wonderful attraction not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A group of 4 of us visited the orchid garden and found it to be most interesting. A well informed guide provided a great tour. The number of orchid species is very impressive and provides a great photo opportunity.
Highly recommended
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thailand

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Orchid Garden also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing