We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Orchid Garden

Monteverde Orchid Garden
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Orchid Garden is a place where you can enjoy beauty that is found in the marvelous world of orchids. Our garden has a large collection of orchids; we have more than 425 different species. You can find species that are endemic to Monteverde, and a collection of miniature orchids, including the smallest one in the world. We offer guided walks both in English and Spanish. We are in a great location in down town Santa Elena.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got a very detailed tour of the gardens which was helpful since the orchids are very tiny. It was looking at another world. Hard to believe these amazing plants are out there. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about the garden. Please know that the orchids are minature...beautiful...but tiny

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cineroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    111
    28
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful attraction not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A group of 4 of us visited the orchid garden and found it to be most interesting. A well informed guide provided a great tour. The number of orchid species is very impressive and provides a great photo opportunity.
Highly recommended
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thailand

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a must if you love flowers! Sllightly hidden entrance at the bottom of the hill next to a coffee shop. Great tour of some magnificent orchids. You are given a magnifying glass to actually see the microsopic orchids. They are REALLY that small. So many different types. Our guide Keilyn was patient and very in the know of all the plants. She made the tour fun. great place for couples, family, school kids, etc. Don't forget to set your flower mode on your camera. Thanks for the orchid in a jar Keilyn..!! Cheers, ~Dave & Angel. Los Angeles City

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_Cowan_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captivating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had 11/2 hours until our tour bus was to pick us up to return to Tamarindo. At breakfast some fellow travellers recommended the Orchid Garden in St Elena An easy walk, we went and thoroughly enjoyed a guided tour. The guide was very knowledgable about the many many species of orchids and Costa Rican vegetation in general. I would never have imagined how tiny these flowers could be. A very well kept and beautiful garden.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Threl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like exotic flowers, go here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

On arrival we were given magnifying glasses and an individual tour. Our guide taught us about the physical properties of orchids and showed us specimens varying from about 1/8" size up to the large cattleyas seen in commercial use. There was an astounding variety of sizes and colors, and these will be different each time you visit as different ones bloom. Can't see anything like this in Colorado!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Orchid Garden also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing