We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“San Luis Coffee tour: you can just go there yourself without the transport / commission” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour

Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“San Luis Coffee tour: you can just go there yourself without the transport / commission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are by car in Monteverde / St. Elena and do not wish to use the taxi/shuttle services or the "help" of people who get a lot of commission, just drive up to San Luis by car. In San Luis you will find the sign (i.e. to the right at the only junction in San Luis) with "Cafe San Luis" which is where the tour is. It starts most often at 8h30 and always at 14h, every day. Without the transport you pay 16 USD per person (and kids for free) for a very interesting tour by the owner, Victor, (and a dolmetscher) and get to taste the best coffee.
He also has explanations about other agricultural things than coffee.
You could check out "victorsfarm" on the internet. (.com) for mor info/telefone nr, etc.
Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank schildry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    32
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kind of expensive, but well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was interesting to see how much work goes into a cup of joe... Also they had sugar cane, moonshine and cocoa that they processed on site. Overall it was a good tour and we enjoyed it,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fun informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The tour started with coffee growing, picking and bean processing. After that we all were given flashlights and went outdoor looking at plants and animal life in the rainforest. We ended the tour with samples of coffee. Informative and fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerryGCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must do in Santa Elena - very interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fellow travellers recommended the "El Trapiche" coffee tour in Santa Elena, so that is the one we booked! It was about $60/person for a 2.5 hour tour.

Our guide, Jorge, is fluent in English, Spanish and I think German. He was very friendly, knowledgable & has a great sense of humor - we really enjoyed the tour!

We started out in the sugar cane plantation, moved into coffee, then chocolate. Throught, we saw bananas, magos, plantains, etc. We were moved through a series of buildings where coffee berries are collected, dried, processed, roasted, etc. Ditto for the chocolate - we got to taste the nibs and Jorge ground some, added sugar and there was some heated chocolate for us to taste (yum!). The end of the tour was where they process the sugar cane, how the oxen are still used, etc. They made brown sugar and we used some of the farm's products to make our own candy. It was pretty sweet but the kids on the tour loved it!

Afterwards, we congregated for some lemon iced tea or coffee, asked questions, etc. It was a very friendly tour and we learned a lot. I would recommend El Trapiche to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tllinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Major import - something you should know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I did a tour out of curiosity. I did the Don Juan plantation. I enjoy gardening and respect farming so this was right up my ally. We learnt about coffee, sugar cane and coca. Sure this is something you can read online. However we got to participate in the process, taste the varieties, taste their concoctions and the people are just fabulous. You can book a tour online direct or through an agency. It's 30 bucks and they will pick you up and drop you off

Helpful?
Thank Janner519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Cafe Monteverde Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing