We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the art and go for the food”

Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde
Ranked #2 of 2 Shopping in Santa Elena
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Skip the art and go for the food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This review is about the food and not the art store. I ordered the chicken asado dish and it was just average (actually a bit dry). However, the curry chicken fried rice was very good. Super flavorful. We also had a coupon for 2 free fruit juice and that was good but nothing spectacular.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good idea but poor execution”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The art was mediocre, hard for me to say that as an artist but some stuff was mass produced mixed in with some local craft. And really expensive. They have a book of artists profiles but it's incomplete and is not possible to match the art with the artist.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Many Local artisans”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This may be the best place to look for art in this area, but it is by no means anything special. There was quite a bit of variety (woodwork, jewelry, linens etc) at decent prices but if you are looking for high-quality art, it's not here. I did a separate review on the very average restaurant that is inside this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Handmade crafts at excellent prices”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're looking for nice, handmade crafts, then be sure to visit C.A.S.E.M. There's a nice selection (wish there was more) of very nice (but usually not top-notch) arts and crafts. And they have the best prices that we saw in any Costa Rican shops. Usually, the price tag is between a quarter and half of what you'll see elsewhere. We bought two items and later regretted not buying several more.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I did not find anything exceptional in crafts here but the cooking out back was extraordinary! The 45 minute wait for lunch was worth every minute. The fresh corn for the tortilla was ground in front of us and then worked into a tortilla----a treat of a lifetime! The roast chicken was one of the most flavorful I have experienced. Do stop and eat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jskart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Artisans Cooperative Santa Elena and Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing