We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, Great Meal”

Restaurante Mar y Tierra
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value, Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Chose this on the back of other comments here and it was fantastic. Quiet but with excellent menu choice even for vegetarians. Our children absolutely loved it, do end your meal with a hot chocolate, a real treat. We all chose different menu items but all of us loved what we chose. Comfortably the best meal we have had in our stay in Costa Rica despite it being our cheapest meal so far.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FTG1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    46
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Set above the bakery, this restaurant lets you look over the main street and dine in a relaxed comfortable manner. The food is good and reasonably priced and the atmosphere quiet and homely. The service was laid back and very Tico but still good.
Not the place if you want a lively, noisy dining experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmcc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped here at the recommendation of our guide and were very pleased with the food, the service, and the ambiance. I would definitely go back for dinner if I had the opportunity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good choice in Santa Elena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Mar y Tierra is located upstairs with a nice view of the bustling streets below. We ate lunch, and wished we had been able to return for other meals. The decor is simple with clean white tablecloths, and the service was very good. They appeared to have an extensive wine selection, which would be a big plus for dinner. Since I was growing a bit weary of casados, I ordered a hamburger, which was large, flavorful, and layered with fresh lettuce and tomatoes. Like any hamburger worth its salt, the juices were a drippy mess and the whole thing eventually exploded into its component parts. The meat patty was ok but nothing special, and accompanying fries were crisp and light. The menu had several nice-looking fish and meat choices that I wish I could have enjoyed. I'd definitely recommend this place for a sit-down lunch, and would bet dinner would be good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our dinner was great. Lemonade was PERFECT, the best I've ever had. The ceviche was delicious and I would highly recommend the "arroz con mariscos". We had just had a LONG drive from Dominical and it felt nice to walk down there and have some great food. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mar y Tierra also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Restaurante Mar y Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing