We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowzers! I need bigger trousers!”
Review of Sabor Tico

Sabor Tico
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Wowzers! I need bigger trousers!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Okay where do I start? After nearly 8 weeks in central America I am tired of pretty bland food, pizzerias, pasta, all the same and all a bit of a let down. I then saw this place. First time I went I just wanted something with veg, I had the chicken soup which was tasty, fresh and just what I needed, fab flavors healthy and a huge bowl, which they then gave me rice and bread to go with it. My husband wasn't feeling great so had some rice pudding which he said was delicious. The next evening we went back for more. I had the shredded chicken with rice, sounds plain, but the chicken was marinated and the rice was so so tasty and so well flavoured I wAs amazed, the salad on the side was also good with a nice dressing. My husband had the marinated pork and various other things which he said wAs really good. They really are making super tasty fabulous local food. The portions are HUGE! The staff are lovely and the prices fair. The tastiest food I've eaten in Costa Rica. Loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    640
    209
    61
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Fare at Great Prices”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a local tour guide and did not disappoint. Our waiter was great, the prices, food and portions were all great. One of our best meals of the trip. You can get Americano fare or get more traditional Costa Rican meals. The kids were ready for something more familiar, whereas my wife and I had something more traditional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our intro to typical Costa Rica fare.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our introduction to typical Costa Rican fare. It is a bit off the beaten path, therefore no walk-in tourist traffic. Most of the customers seemed to be local which usually indicates a good place to eat. I don't remember what we ordered since we were there about a year ago, except the portions seemed huge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petegrube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food priced reasonably”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Food is probably not the best feature Costa Rica presents. Sabor Tico is a nice place, with decent food, and the prices are reasonable. The local dishes are especially recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RamiTelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic food great prices.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this place!! We came bc of the great reviews on this site, and I could not agree more; this is the real deal! I had the civiche, guacamole, and a large bowl of made to order chicken soup. Also had a banana milkshake. I would order every item again! Prices were on the lower side of average for being located in a tourist area. Busy for lunch with the majority if clientele locals. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12LiveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Tico also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sabor Tico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing