We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape during Easter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monteverde Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Heredia
2 reviews
“Great escape during Easter”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not so crowded, excellent customer service and facilities. Very good food with live music and outstanding mountain weather. Cosy rooms and ecological practices.
Close to Santa Elena downtown, super market and medical services.
Quite and peaceful gardens, but 10 minutes from zip line and other mountain adventures.
Great value for the price in this season.

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jairux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Jairux,. Thank you very much for your review and good comments about our hotel. We are very glad you felt welcomed and well treated, we are trying our best to provide the best service and attention to our guests. I´m glad you enjoyed our facilities, we cater for a relaxed, cozy, classic Monteverde ambience, spacious corridors, and comfortable rooms, gardens, fountains, lounge areas etc,,,
We are very close to supermarkets, local restaurants, tours and forest areas.
We love to have Costar Ricans stay with us and enjoy the beauties of the cloud forest,, thank you for choosing Monteverde Country Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    149
    109
    44
    18
See reviews for
87
171
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The check-in process was OK until we were told that we had to wait for a carrier to take our bags to our room, which was maybe 15 feet behind the checkout desk. That was odd as we were in a hurry and it would have been nice to be told our room was 15 min away. The room itself in in a courtyard-like area on the 1st floor, across from a fountain and by the entrance to the dining room. The dinner we had there was so so compared with the rest of food in Costa Rica and the staff was baffled when we asked for iced coffee, even had to bring a translator in, which they proceeded to invent and it was absolutely awful, but we didnt say anything as the staff truly tried to accommodate our request.

Since the room is on the first floor and there's quite large holes under the door, we hear everything. Every suitcase being carried, the loud water fountain and because of the location, we constantly had spiders in our room. Now, we understand that Costa Rica has amazing nature and bugs, but this is the ONLY place that had loads of them in the actual room. At night when I was awaken by all the noise I spotted a large black spider on the wall, and as I'm terrified of them, i was not able to sleep again. The staff got started in the kitchen across the yard about 5AM and were incredibly loud with basic conversation and just overall preparation noises.

Then, a cockroach casually walked in around 7AM as we were laving for breakfast. It gets worse though, the showers are OK but there is nothing except one kind of weird pink soap. There is no shampoo or conditioner or body wash. Nothing. Its quite a sad experience to have when on vacation after a long trip where you just want to take a nice shower and relax. I think we would have been better off in a hostel. This was the only awful experience I had in Costa Rica, myself and my friend did not get any sleep in the dirty spider filled noisy room and it felt like we were being punished for being there.

Room Tip: DO NOT allow them to put you in a room on the first floor by the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Mrs Lana. It sure sounds like you were at the wrong kind of establishment for your own taste and expectations. Nothing really worked for you while you stayed with us. Please, next time this happens to you say something to somebody and have them find you a better, more suitable hotel somewhere else. We´d done it before, I accept there have been cases where guests have requested a switch in rooms, ( we have 60 rooms!!! We could have found you a better choice within the property, or maybe at our sister property Hotel Poco a Poco. And if none of these options had worked for you, you could have moved to another hotel more suitable, I guarantee you, under these circumstances we would have offer you a full refund.
We are working on all of these details and situations, you clearly have a point regarding weak spots on our operation and facilities. We are very much aware of all of these problems, yet, we know we have a good hotel, great staff and good value for our services.
I´m sorry you were not happy with your choice for hotel in Monteverde. Too bad we only heard of this trough Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed by the friendly and hard working staff, as well as the cleanliness. A delicious breakfast is included and we ate both lunch and dinner there on different days. The arroz con pollo was amazing! The musician played traditional music as well as American and was quite talented. The juice upon arrival was a nice touch and the staff was polite and helpful. There are many restaurants within walking distance, but town is a steep 1 mile down hill walk away, so I would recommend the $4 taxi. Even with a large EF group staying there with us, it was never too loud (bar closes at 10pm!). I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yankeezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Mr Yankee. What a nice review, thank you very much. It really shows you enjoyed your time spent with us and our services. We cater for the best service possible and good quality within our means.
Home style, warm, personalized attention and good quality are our strengths, yet we are also aware of all the fixing that needs to be done. In the overall perception of our guests, we deliver a good experience and thanks to you we can perceive we are doing things right.
Our food is very good, local ingredients and local touch, Live music performed every night by our musicians, we provide a great ambience and reasonable prices. We do recommend to hire a taxi to get into town, nevertheless, there are other options of restaurants and shops just a couple of blocks away.
Monteverde Country Lodge is a great choice of hotel and we are very glad you enjoyed it!! Thanks,
Happy travels.
All the staff at Monteverde Country Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room was not very big but very clean and comfortable. I was worried because I read in reviews people complaining about the noise but we didn't have neighbors next door so it was very quiet. The food was good but the same breakfast every morning. The staff was absolutely lovely and helpful. The only problem is the location. The road is bad, hilly, very dusty and unpleasant to walk to town.

Room Tip: If possible, try not to have neighbors next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo201403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello Jojo, thank you for your review, I´m glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Country Lodge, our rooms aren’t very big but they are very comfortable even though a bit basic. I´m glad you had a quiet, relaxed time with us, and thanks on behalf of all our staff. We are trying our best to be accommodating, personal and outgoing with our clients. Thank you for your review.
Our hotel is not on the main road, yet, it’s only a couple of blocks away from the paved/main road. Lots of attractions nearby and taxis are very reasonable.
Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaplin, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Small but clean rooms (hard beds though). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast & lunch were good - typical fare, rice & beans served all the time, but epic fail at dinner on the first night with thin pork chops cooked into hockey pucks. Power went out for about 3 hours one afternoon and hot water in the shower was iffy. Close to attractions. Traveled with an EF group of high school students.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello, Deb.
Thank you for your review.
Student groups are always welcome even despite the fact that sometimes other guests are not so happy about having kids staying at the same hotel, we have worked with EF and other student companies and our hotel has always ranked very high. I´m sorry for the chops sittuation; we try our best to acomodate the best fare of meals accordingly to tge budgets, it is always hard to please everyone.
I´m glad the gorup enjoyed our hotel and thanks for the feed back.
Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Lovely staff, nice rooms, big bathroom, good food, did some good trips as well. Lots of places to eat close by as well. Nice grounds to sit out in, and a lovely little courtyard to have a coffee. Restaurant very good , all staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneOShea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mrs Oshea,.
Thank you for such a nice review, down to the facts and simple. Thank you for choosing Monteverde Country Lodge for your stay in Monteverde.
I´m very glad you enjoyed your stay, tours, restaurants, food, etc, these are the things that really matter, to be able to enjoy a destination by experiencing what it has to offer, we try to be a good / reasonably priced, complement for visitors. Despite the fact that we offer basic accommodations, and some of walls are thin, we try of best to provide great service and comfortable amenities.
Thank you very much. I hope you were also able to enjoy our live music everynight at dinner, or perhaps the pool and Jacuzzi at our sister property down the road.
We have a lot to offer, I´m glad you had a good time.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This is, without question, the worst hotel I have had the misfortune to stay at in 50 years.

First the good points - the Reception staff are courteous and helpful and the fruit compote served at breakfast is nice.

OK..... now for the bad....

The rooms aren't sound-proofed so the noise from other guests is terrible, even a gentle tread echoes through the building. I suspect you could hear a gnat pass gas in an upstairs room. Couple this fact with the septic tank pumps which come on and off with an unreasonably loud Clonk every 5 minutes or so and you get little rest.

The breakfast is horrible at best and unless you get down early you'll find there's no juice, water or even seats. The sausage is of dreadful quality and even the gallo pinto is pasty and bland. Toast has the texture and crispness of a well used flannel.

Despite their self-billing as an Eco Lodge, what little green areas they have (three 8'x8' lawns surrounded by a few small plants) are almost completely sterile, with only the ubiquitous grackles as company.

Avoid at all costs, you have been warned,

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello David. I´m sorry you didn’t enjoy our property, We are very much aware of our weak spots, as well of our strengths, and I know for sure, we are a good hotel, among the best in Monteverde, I´m sorry you disagree, yet this is your personal opinion and you are entitled to give it. I´m sorry you were forced to endure such situations without saying a word to the front desk or the management, because you didn’t say a word to us,, we could have switch you to another room /area of the hotel, we could have help you move to a better room, more isolated, even to our sister property, or perhaps we could have freed you from such a unpleasant experience and refund you for your stay so you could have go and stay somewhere else, I wish you had say something,, ( this is what I would have done: look for a more suitable hotel for my taste and expectations, instead of forcing myself to stay in a place I did not like, especially if you say this is the worst hotel you have stayed in) There are 4 stars and luxury hotels in Monteverde, maybe you could have gone and stay there, instead of US$ 85, plus taxes, their rates are: US$ 230 / US$ 325 per night. Simple like that….
What you say about breakfast is not true, and your impression of our sustainable practices is wrong: Solar heating panels, water treatment plant, proper garbage selection and disposal, native plant on all our garden areas, ( native plants are not so showy or colorful, yet they are beautiful and feed local fauna) Lots of birds: robins, euphonias, flycatchers, tanagers, seed eaters, saltators, wrens, hummingbirds, etc..
Your perception is wrong again, Im sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Property: Monteverde Country Lodge
Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing