We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Monteverde” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Country Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monteverde Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Monteverde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've been taking travel groups to Costa Rica for 7 years, and this hotel is by far the nicest I've found in Monteverde. The location is convenient for all of the activities in the area, the rooms are clean and newly remodeled, the staff is friendly, and the food in the restaurant is great! If I had to list a drawback, it might be that there's no air conditioning. But since Monteverde is in the mountains, it isn't really an issue. I've stayed at many, many hotels throughout Costa Rica over the years, and I've seen the range of quality available, and for those who understand value, this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIS_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2016
Dear RIS, Thank you for your review. Your comments do make us feel very proud, coming for such an experienced traveler. We are surely using your feedback on our web site!! Thanks again.
Please notice: there are no A/C facilities up here, we are located at 5.000 feet of elevation. I do agree weather is changing and hot - sunny days are more and more common. We do have small fans for the rooms and will install ceiling fans shortly..
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    137
    100
    42
    17
See reviews for
77
160
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Monteverde Country Lodge with couple friends and had an amazing experience. It is a very affordable place with great, clean rooms, comfortable beds, very good service and yummy breakfast. Its conveniently located near three restaurants but at the same time, nature is just steps away. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Santa Elena. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2016
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel is perfect until the local fair starts. They talk about how tranquil their property is. I didn't get that. I asked them when the music would let up and they said it usually stops at around 2 am. I wish they would have mentioned that. I would have chosen another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
Dear Mrs Smartiann.
We are sorry you did not enjoy the chance to experience some of the traditional festivities en Monteverde. It is customary during the month of May that they celebrate their annual fair. Most guests join the party, drink and eat their way through the weekend and take tours as desired during the day.
It does get loud, I give you that. We provide ear plugs and assign guests as far as possible from the noise.
If you are looking for quietness, please find another place...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Agree with all the previous posts. Suggest that one ask for the second floor of wing that runs parallel to Lucia's restaurant. Hot water was good, rooms had high ceilings, beds comfortable. This is a damp part of the world, so second floor rooms are best for folks with arthritis. Area is inconvenient for most things, except for three excellent restaurants - Olivio, Sofia's, and Lucia's. Breakfast was as mentioned by others, except juice was the fake stuff.... when all over CR there is fresh juice of all kinds.....

Room Tip: Second floor of wing parallel to Lucia's restaurant has high ceilinged rooms that are good sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
Dear Joel. Thank you for your comments and for recommending Monteverde Country Lodge to others. Your feedback will allow us to improve, correct and supervise the standard of service and to achieve excellence.
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was a little uncertain when booking this hotel based on recent reviews I had read. The staff was very friendly upon our arrival and the room was incredibly neat and clean. The staff booked two great tours for us when we checked in and recommended one of them, which far exceeded our expectations. For the price, cleanliness and quality, well worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CycloneGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2016
Hi Cyclone Girl!!! Thank you for your review. Monteverde in general sometimes becomes difficult to get to, once up here, we rely on the local sings and points of reference. We do pop out on a GPS device!
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel complex out of Santa Elena and close to the Cloud Forest is expanding its series of "wings". The rooms are basic and too crowded for the double beds but the staff will bring the missing chairs. You can squeeze them in or use them on the small balconies. The beds are good, getting hot water (or too hot/too cold/limited pressure) is a challenge. The floors are less than clean -- we tracked dirt from the shower to the bath mat on bare feet. Breakfasts are the usual Costa Rica country fare and the rest of the restaurant menu is limited but we heard good comments about the food. A great bet is across the road at Delucia, a fine dining restaurant with excellent food and good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2016
Dear Kurt. Thank you for your review.
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The rooms were clean with two queen-size beds, which were a little too firm for us. We were very aware of those above us walking around their room. Size wise, the room was adequate with only the two beds, 2 nightstands with lamps, and combination TV stand, shelves and half-length closet. There was not a chair, microwave or refrigerator, alarm clock, face cloths or hair dryer but there was a safe. I noticed some of the upstairs rooms had a chair out on the balcony. There was also, no heat or air conditioning but with the wind blowing constantly, we didn’t need either. The large walk-in shower was a little iffy in regards to hot water and in some cases; little or no water at all.
I saw a few determined souls walking to and from the nearest town of Santa Elena. Going down didn’t look too bad unless you were having problems with your knees but the climb back was steep. I would think most would need a rental car or taxi.
I only ate at the restaurant’s breakfast buffet twice. Each time the menu was basically the same: fresh fruit, dry cereal, sausage (more like a polish sausage), scrambled eggs and the mandatory rice & beans. One day they had pre-made toast and the second, pancakes. The coffee was hot and served with hot milk.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Property: Monteverde Country Lodge
Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing