We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5* Very Informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Elena Cooperative Coffee Tours

Santa Elena Cooperative Coffee Tours
Ranked #19 of 20 things to do in Santa Elena
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5* Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Tour of a family-run coffee plantation with coffee tasting. Joyce, a family member was a very knowledgeable guide who explained many aspects of Costa Rica's coffee industry very well. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank B_and_E_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - didn't even know I was interested before tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to our guide Marco, not only because he's a fellow Georgetown Hoya but also because he & our host, Don Victor, genuinely care about the coffee and the people who produce it. The experience was a bit like visiting a relative's farm out in the country: walk around, see the process, say hello to the cows, then sit down over a cup of coffee & chat. Although I did the tour in Spanish, Marco helped me with translation when necessary.

Seriously, I had no idea that I was interested in coffee before the tour. Thanks guys.

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The only real Tico coffee tour in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We travelled 3 weeks in Costa Rica with our 2 boys (nearly 5 and 6 1/2 years old) and wanted to do a coffee tour while travelling.

But, we didn't want to do the commercial ones.
Reina from Cabanas Valle Campanas (our accomodation in Monteverde) recommended us to do this one. What a hit!!

This is a tour that goes to a local coffee farmer, with whom you have plenty of time to discuss, and you are able to get the feeling of the real Tico farmer's life.

You enjoy the growing process, the harvesting (you can help!), the processing (there too!) and a nice tasting at the end, without pressure.

Far far away from the commercial tours where you see the business but not the people. We came to Costa Rica partly to meet Ticos and have a strong feeling about their way of life. That coffee tour was in direct line with that desire.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only authentic coffee tour in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I came to Monteverde seeking authentic coffee, and I found it with the tour provided by the Cooperative of Santa Elena coffee growers. They recently moved locations, and are next to the post office just outside of the main "triangle" in Santa Elena. Their website is www dot monteverde-coffee dot com. You take a small bus to the farm of Juan, 40 year veteran and founding member of the cooperative who shows you around his farm. You can smell the coffee plant blossoms, eat fresh coffee "cherries" straight off the plants, and see how coffee is made from plant to cup. The tour finishes with home baked banana bread (from trees on the farm) and fresh brewed coffee. Highly recommended, especially compared to the theme park feel of the other local coffee tours.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank verdadtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“dream tour for coffe lovers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Cofee tour is so special because of visit to the small organic coffe field which is set in an beutifull surroundings. After visiting coffe plants with a farmer it is nice to sit in a simple house and enjoy the tranquility of the place. With all the nature sounds and hot coffe of course! And if you're like, there will be some banana home buiscuits made from the farmers wife...
After the visit of the farm it is time to see how the coffe is dried and rosted in Santa Elena. There is also ashop and a coffee restaurant, so you can test different sorts of coffe
Very informative, good guides, interesting also for children !

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Cooperative Coffee Tours also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Santa Elena Cooperative Coffee Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing