We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The dorm I stayed in was 10$ or 12$ I think Including breakfast which I thought was an excellent price , location is great wifi worked well and the owner was very helpful with directions and recommendations for future parts of the trip

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    100
    20
    19
    19
See reviews for
13
92
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee, good central location, helpful staff and tour agency, the ability to book all your adventures at one place, good deals for those adventures, and tidy rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lily_Lee_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Super clean, super friendly, super comfortable, super great location! Everything a backpacker could hope for.
The breakfast is delicious, and the owner is overwhelmingly helpful. - and not just with the stuff she would get a commission for.
I would highly reccomend for anyone traveling to Monteverde.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Fellow backpackers, I urge you to avoid this hostel. Mounteverde has plenty of better options for your backpacking needs.
Yorle is the owner of this tiny hostel in the main triangle of Santa Elena. We had come from La Fortuna and was recommended this hostel by another traveler(not sure why). We had called Yorle 2 days before we arrived to reserve. Her website had said 10 bucks for a dorm and 25 for a private room. We decided to go with the dorm room. When we called she informed us it was 10 for dorm and 30 for private room. She also required a credit card to reserve when many hostels do not.
We had arrived one day early in Mounteverde and stayed at montelena backpackers for the night. It was 10 for a private room and shared bath. Which was clean and comfortable. The next day we were at sloths with Yorle in person and she told us again 10 dollars for a dorm. The day before we left sloths she stuck a 72 dollar bill in our face claiming it was 12 dollars a night and we just weren't listening. My girlfriend and I were extremely offended. When my girlfriend said something Yorle was outright rude.
Other reviews say she is very helpful and everything is very clean. But they are all very short and uninformative. So let me break it down for you.
Positives: clean, good breakfast, cool hammock chairs outside. Good wifi

Negatives: Yorle is a scam artist 100%, she is no more helpful than anyone else at any other hostel trying to earn their commission from activities, their pillows are like a piece of rice paper(you're better off sleeping on your arm)
And the hot water showers only work half the time. Cancelling your reservations takes 48 hours(when reservations are not entirely necessary)

As I said before there are many better options for your stay in Mounteverde. Hopefully whoever reads this takes our advice. Thanks. Safe travels everyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Large room which was immaculately clean. Owner (Yorle) was very friendly and helpful. Facilities were good. Breakfast was nice too. We needed to cancel a tour at the very last moment, and Yorle made sure that our money was fully refunded. Overall, a very satisfactory experience for a backpacker hotel.

Room Tip: Look at the room before deciding on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had good breakfast, clean room everyday, good service, speaking very good English language...
Than you go out on the road, in to the woods and you are free. Intact nature everywhere around, lot of animals, the nicest dogs..hehehe,.... And you are free!
Pura vida!
K&T

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristijanR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Cleanest hostel I've stayed in CR so far! Private bathroom for each 4-bed dorm, great breakfast daily! Yorle is extremely efficient - got me onto a night walk tour the same evening when I arrived at 5.40pm!! Booked a few more tours through the hostel - high quality and fairly priced. Good atmosphere and met great people at the hostel! Recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank h0neylem0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing