We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best value in Central America so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value in Central America so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

After 7 nights in another hostel that had cold shared showers and a leaky roof, it was with sweet relief that I stepped into the hot shower at Sloth Backpackers. For just $20 a night for a private double (our room had a double and a single bed) with a clean bathroom, wifi, and pancakes for breakfast - this really is a good deal.

The owner Yorle was there waiting at the bus stop in the rain to walk people to the hostel and then provided us with maps and as much information as we needed. It was helpful to be able to book all our activities with Yorle, who provided recommendations without being pushy at all. We were also able to book our onwards transfer to La Fortuna and get our washing done - all without leaving the hostel!

My only small negative would be that it can get a little loud in the front rooms with the traffic from the main road and people coming and going in neighboring rooms and the kitchen. However I think that this would be unavoidable anywhere in town and is the price you pay for a good location within walking distance to the main restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 next to the kitchen. I am unsure if there are private rooms upstairs, however if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMonoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    95
    20
    19
    18
See reviews for
12
91
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay here was made super easy by being able to book all activities at the hostel front desk. Central communal kitchen is great for comparing travel notes at the end of the day. Good location though St Elena is tiny so you would be hard pressed to walk far...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed a couple of nights at the beautiful place.
we really enjoy our stay, by the way we got to see the sloth
the staff was very friendly
great breakfast, very nice rooms, we loved this place

we will be back for sure

thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was one of my favourite places to stay in Costa Rica! It was super inexpensive, clean AND we got pancakes for breakfast! My roomie was sick and the owner did everything she could to make her feel comfortable. The owner was very helpful in directing us as to which attractions are the best bang for our buck. We even saw a sloth outside of the B&B. The only downside was cold showers but I would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2003277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hostel is really nice! The staff was really friendly and helpful, a great breakfast (egg, toast, jam, fruits ...) is included! The bathrooms are clean and there is warm shower! The tour organisation is really good, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzytrotamundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The budget traveler won't go wrong with Sloth Backpackers. Stayed for 2 nights in the dorm. Cozy accommodation in a central but quiet location. You interact with the owner so working through things is easy and she is willing to help with bookings. The owner speaks English, knows the tours/area and is willing to offer advice. Other travelers in Monteverde mentioned that the tours she recommended to me are the best in the area for those activities. My experience with Sloth Backpacker's customer service was the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights.
This hostel is very nice, clean and cosy. The hostel is small so you are sure to meet other backpackers and socialize with them in the kitchen/living room.
The owner is a very nice lady with a strong personality. She speaks English quite well and helps you with whatever you need.
The hostel is not expensive and the price includes breakfast.
The location is great. It is close to the centre but far enough so it is quiet and peaceful.
All trips and tours can be booked by the host for the best price.
The only discomfort when you sleep in the dorm and you are tall, is that it is not possible to stand up straight. But if you don't like that, you can rent a private room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing