We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Thank you to Yorle and Diego for all their help!! The staff are what make this place so amazing. I had a great stay here in December, this is an amazing hostel in a good location. The free breakfast was really nice as well, thanks Yorle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilithangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    93
    19
    19
    17
See reviews for
11
89
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing place with amazing people!! Had some wonderful and unforgettable time here!!
It's the best place if you are looking for some warm and funny atmosphere. Thanks again to Yorle for the warm Xmas!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent value for money spent. Good advice on tours and things to do. Very good free breakfast, pancakes or omelett. Clean hostel (but kitsch decoration), kitchen ok but miss a left-over area for oil, spices, etc... Perfect location, close to the supermaket and town center. Professional staff, very kind, helpful and hospitable.

Our best hostel in CR !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchIndianaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A friend and I had one day to take in the Monteverde experience and owner was extremely helpful and took a sincere personal interest in our comfort and care. Private room had bunk, full on bottom and twin top and small table. Sound travels easily through walls, but owner very conscious of comfort of all occupants and politely yet effectively sees that the hostel is quite by bedtime. If just looking for a place to rest and get going again without extra pampering, this hostel is on the recommended list. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Did see the dorms, we were in a private room right next to the street. Can hear all conversations a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms were comfortable, water was hot, free breakfast + coffee were good, staff was friendly and helpful, and prices were very low (I paid $8 per night for a dorm bed). I would stay there again.

HOWEVER I wish the staff treated us less like a walking dollar sign. Before we had a chance to unpack and take a shower, the staff was already pitching us to do ziplining and guided hikes. There were definitely a few other times during our stay when I felt like I was being upsold. I definitely understand that hotels and travel agents make commissions by booking events for their guests, but the folks here need to ease off a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevintrotter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Kevin
Sorry if you felt a little bit pushed about the tours, many people are here only for a few days so some of them are in a rush and appreciate the fast way of booking tours,9/10 People appreciate the fast booking but we will be looking toward to fix and make the say more relaxing for Costumers, We are glad you actually enjoyed our hostel , Thanks for the feedback.¡Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The brother and sister that run this place are very friendly and intelligent. They booked my shuttle and canapoy tour for me and were extremely helpful and informative. I got to stay in a private room, double bed by myself for $11 per night, breakfast and coffee included. Would recommend to anyone. They are pretty strick about the lights out, quiet hours. Not a place to party. They also have HOT WATER SHOWERS!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REGRESSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are more than happy that you found our hostel a relaxing place, we are more than happy seeing costumers go satisfied our the door. We are also happy that you enjoyed the activities you booked through us because we try to look at the top best activities In Monte Verde for you to have a nice vacation in our country. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place was definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Myself and two friends got a private room, including a delicious breakfast, for $10 each per night. Great value, and the staff here is the best! Diego was so helpful with booking tours and activities and took us on a walk to climb up the inside of a ficus tree. That was an amazing experience and the view was incredible. The hostel also allows you to get your money back if you cancel or reschedule a tour, which is very rare, and quite important in a climate with such unpredictable weather. Their tour prices were the same or cheaper than the others I looked at. All of the food and activity recommendations were great. We ended up extending our stay here to 3 nights! The beds were super comfy and the decor was adorable and homey. If you are coming to Monteverde, stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Sarah.
The time here with you girls was more then wonderful, You girls were absolutely friendly ,We wish every costumer was as good as you girls were, Hoping to see you returning to Costa Rica next Year , ¡Feliz navidad! Have some happy hollidays, Best vibes from Costa Rica. Yorle& Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing