We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hospitality & tour advice, met needs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
“Excellent hospitality & tour advice, met needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A friend and I had one day to take in the Monteverde experience and owner was extremely helpful and took a sincere personal interest in our comfort and care. Private room had bunk, full on bottom and twin top and small table. Sound travels easily through walls, but owner very conscious of comfort of all occupants and politely yet effectively sees that the hostel is quite by bedtime. If just looking for a place to rest and get going again without extra pampering, this hostel is on the recommended list. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Did see the dorms, we were in a private room right next to the street. Can hear all conversations a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    95
    20
    19
    18
See reviews for
12
91
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms were comfortable, water was hot, free breakfast + coffee were good, staff was friendly and helpful, and prices were very low (I paid $8 per night for a dorm bed). I would stay there again.

HOWEVER I wish the staff treated us less like a walking dollar sign. Before we had a chance to unpack and take a shower, the staff was already pitching us to do ziplining and guided hikes. There were definitely a few other times during our stay when I felt like I was being upsold. I definitely understand that hotels and travel agents make commissions by booking events for their guests, but the folks here need to ease off a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevintrotter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Kevin
Sorry if you felt a little bit pushed about the tours, many people are here only for a few days so some of them are in a rush and appreciate the fast way of booking tours,9/10 People appreciate the fast booking but we will be looking toward to fix and make the say more relaxing for Costumers, We are glad you actually enjoyed our hostel , Thanks for the feedback.¡Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The brother and sister that run this place are very friendly and intelligent. They booked my shuttle and canapoy tour for me and were extremely helpful and informative. I got to stay in a private room, double bed by myself for $11 per night, breakfast and coffee included. Would recommend to anyone. They are pretty strick about the lights out, quiet hours. Not a place to party. They also have HOT WATER SHOWERS!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REGRESSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are more than happy that you found our hostel a relaxing place, we are more than happy seeing costumers go satisfied our the door. We are also happy that you enjoyed the activities you booked through us because we try to look at the top best activities In Monte Verde for you to have a nice vacation in our country. ¡Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place was definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Myself and two friends got a private room, including a delicious breakfast, for $10 each per night. Great value, and the staff here is the best! Diego was so helpful with booking tours and activities and took us on a walk to climb up the inside of a ficus tree. That was an amazing experience and the view was incredible. The hostel also allows you to get your money back if you cancel or reschedule a tour, which is very rare, and quite important in a climate with such unpredictable weather. Their tour prices were the same or cheaper than the others I looked at. All of the food and activity recommendations were great. We ended up extending our stay here to 3 nights! The beds were super comfy and the decor was adorable and homey. If you are coming to Monteverde, stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Sarah.
The time here with you girls was more then wonderful, You girls were absolutely friendly ,We wish every costumer was as good as you girls were, Hoping to see you returning to Costa Rica next Year , ¡Feliz navidad! Have some happy hollidays, Best vibes from Costa Rica. Yorle& Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We had only been told they had our names from their sister hostel in La Fortuna, but when we got there they knew who we were and were ready.
Everyone there was so welcoming and accommodating, especially when we were hoping for a private room and only a dorm was available, they gave us the small dorm privately.
Breakfast was great, as was the wifi, and they had a wealth of information about local tours and attractions.
It was warm, friendly, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Evan
We are more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay during Monte verde, We wished you had stayed some extra time in our hostel but the time you were here with us we really enjoyed it with you.
¡Pura vida! Yorle & Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yorle is the nicest host - ever! Sloth is clean, friendly, and close to everything. Diego, Yorle's brother, knows his stuff about Monteverde and will go out with you at night. Definitely stay here if you want a place that can hook you up with everything.

Room Tip: I stayed in 14 - it was perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sloth Backpackers was one of our favorite hostels that we stayed in while traveling through Costa Rica. We found, the best hostels to be the ones where the owner opens up her home to guests. We ended up staying three nights there! The hostel offers so many different tours, shuttles, and things to do while visiting the town. I recommend doing what you can! It's worth the money, and you discover things you've never seen before. We enjoyed the zip lining, coffee, chocolate, sugar cane tour, and 'Jeep-Boat-Jeep" tour, which was a shuttle from the hostel to Arenal Lake, ferry across the lake, and a shuttle to La Fortuna. Fun, and great way to see the country. Of course the night life was awesome! We frequented Bar Amigos and another bar, where we met fun locals who loved to dance and have fun. One night there was a live band, that played great music. The town folk we amazing dancers, I believe some of the dances taught to me were, The Machata and Salsa. Anyway, the hostel offered many things to do, and very comforting to come back to the room at anytime. In the mornings, the owner cooked us banana pancakes with fresh tropical fruit. So delicious. I had a great time, and will return another day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing