We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$104
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
176
106
23
20
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
106
23
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakesthe ownerthe kitchenfruitfree breakfasthot watercosta ricafast wifistayed for nightsbook toursla fortunanice place to staynice breakfastrooms are cleanrecommend staying hereprivate bathroomsan jose
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 345 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The sloth Hostel is at another street than most hostels and the rooms are small but okay. The nice thing about this hostel is the great breakfast that they make for you as well as the teo sister who own the place who really make you feel at home. They are also very helpful with tours, which they can organize for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This isn't the biggest hostel in town, but if you want a sweet environment that feels like home, this is the place to go. The owner, Yorle, is supercool—a warm and caring person who treats you like part of the family.

When we stayed at Sloth Backpackers, it was nice, clean, safe, and cool, with nice beds, clean bathrooms, and no bugs—and it's a great deal since it comes with a nice free home-cooked hot breakfast that Yorle cooks herself.

In addition to being a great place to stay, Yorle completely hooked us up with everything we needed in town:

- arranged for us to stay at a beautiful local cabin on the outskirts of town (since we stayed for 2 weeks and wanted our own place)
- arranged a coffee/sugar/chocolate tour, where we learned about the making of coffee, sugar, and chocolate
- gave us good advice on local restaurants (the best ones are Trio, Treehouse, Taco y Taco, and Musashi Sushi)
- arranged for us to go ziplining, which was incredible

And like I said, she just treated us like part of the family:

- on my birthday, she made a home-cooked traditional Costa Rican dinner for me and my friends, which was amazing and delicious
- she took us with her the local bar, Bar Amigos, to watch the big futbol match between Costa Rica and El Salvador with her and her friends and family, a big party which was super fun
- she introduced us to her sisters, brothers, cousins, and father, a lovely local family who were all super nice and warm too
- she even made calls and helped us arrange accommodations in the next town we were going to!

Basically, because of Yorle, we weren't just random tourists. Instead, we felt like we made friends with real people, and got to know a little slice of Costa Rican culture. I've told Yorle she's welcome to visit me in New York anytime. I'm sure you'll feel the same way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteverdeSlothBB, Owner at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

wuuaaaooo! Very beautiful comment!
Thank you friends for your visit, I will miss!
Good luck in your La Fortuna and Nicaragua, remember that if this is your wish to return home!
Pura vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The private room was very cute and very comfortable. There was one comfortable double bed, and a chair to put our bags on. The shared bathroom was a little small , but had a great hot water shower the decor is very nice bath are some nice .. sloths!! the bathrooms are very clean.
The location of the hotel is just down a hill from the main part of town which was great for low noise levels & access to restaurants.
We felt very safe at all times walking around at night and found the locals & other tourists very friendly. Santa Elena was a great town to visit and we will be going back for a second visit and will definitely stay at Sloth Backpackers
Breakfast was delicious. Gaby & Yorle gives you a choice of a few things, but I would suggest you try his pancakes with banana or pineapple as they are to die for, included in the nightly rate $10 p.p Wonderful service
The girls were amazing, preparing our delicious breakfast so incredibly helpful.
They arranged everything we did for us since he has good relationships with people there often at a discount.
After being there and seeing other places, I still think this is the best place in Monteverde to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It is a simple hostel at a low price. The best part is the service that they provided. Stayed there for a night and it was good! Yorle was very nice and extremely helpful. She came to fetch me at the bus terminal! She gave me advice on what to do and gave good recommendations. She has plenty of tours to offer to you at a good price. The location is within the town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

“Great place, great staff, great experience!
Yorle and gaby answered all our questions about the excursions and was very knowledgable about the trips and places to see/go in Monteverde. the girls is was very dedicated to helping the guests and helped us arrange transportation in addition to all the other wonderful services he provided.
Our whole family (5 pax) enjoyed our stay there. It was a great place to come back and relax after spending the day hiking/zip lining around. Even better, the breakfasts were delicious!
We had a wonderful breakfast of our choice. I will always remember the comfy cozy feeling, though, that I had there.
The room was clean and the shower was absolutely amazing in comparison to most of the hotels in Costa Rica.
The hostel is located very close to the center of town and to the bars, supermarket and bus stop.
The kitchen is full equipped, a computer o wi-fi where you can use the internet. I recommend it! It is a great cheap price too!
Sloth Backpackers was great for the price and was safe and clean. Definitely would recommend this to travelers in the area! [:)]

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews