We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Amazingly friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, unbeatable price.””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our stay here was amazing. Thanks Gaby & Yorle
The staff were wonderfully efficient and helpful, the facilities are excellent, especially considering the price.
The location, not far from "downtown." just at 3 minutes from the Monteverde bus station, near to the best restaurants, supermarkets, souvernirs, stores, banks and more.. you will need to stay in this cheap and comfortable hostel.
Cheap rooms with share bathrooms or Dorms, first time the bathrooms have hot water and are always clean at all times, fully equipped kitchen, orthopedic mattresses and good blankets.
The staff were very friendly, pleasant and helpful offering advice as well as booking trips.
They also provided free internet service which was enabled us to contact home when needed.
The breakfasts provided were amazing, and we especially loved the banana pancakes
Breakfast was very good, nice coffee,Eggs, Omeleth, pancakes and good plate with fruit, the best delicious breakfast!
I highly reccommend staying here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 340 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Gyba y Yorle are very nice and helpfull! I loved our room with big windows and the breakfast! Gracias for the great time and organization of out trips! Joanna

Room Tip: down with the view of trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We got a small upstairs room for 3 that was a bit cramped and hot and stuffy during the day. Other than that, it was clean and comfortable. At night it cooled down. The mattresses were in good condition. Showers had hot water. Breakfast was delicious. We felt very safe here. There is someone that works there on site 24 hrs/day. The staff Gabi and Yorle gave us information on activities in the area and arranged for us to go on tours then set up our next hostel stay. They were extremely helpful. We stayed 3 nights here and loved it!

Room Tip: If you make reservations, ask for a downstairs room, as they are more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Gaby and Yorle (the owners) are such nice people. The place is clean, friendly, and safe.
I was traveling with a minor, and they took her on like they were big sisters. Sloth Backpackers
is very conveniently located near enough to the bus (2 minute walk) but far enough to be away from the town noise. They arranged tours for us and helped us figure out our transportation. They even met us at the bus stop (unexpected) to make sure we were able to find the place.

The backpackers hostels in general are not fancy. At Sloth you get a clean room, a nice breakfast (great coffee) and a place to take a shower. Don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorenzoTheLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We visited the Sloth Backpackers in March and were quite happy with it. close to town and activities. The staff: Gabi and Yorle were incredibly helpful in telling us everything there was to do in the area, recommending restaurants, booking us on a night walking tour and more activides en the recepcion!! Good prices
The location is also very good!!!

Sloth Backpackers, was immaculately cared for, the breakfasts were delicious, the room very comfortable and clean and one of the most wonderful hosts that we encountered during our Costa Rican trip!!!

The rooms are basic but good and great value for money. I also enjoyed the breakfast with a more then plenty amount of delicious pancakes and fresh fruits.

Rooms and breakfast was great, but what really did the stay special was the friendly and helpful staff - and not the least the fantastic complimentary tea and coffee :) Free all day.

I really recommend staying at this place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eduard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

“Most favourite stay in Costa Rica!”

Sloth Backpackers is a nice clean b&b. It is centrally located in Sta. Elena.
The owners, Yorle & Gaby is extremly helpful with organizing tours and suggesting activities. They also serve a delicious breakfast...try banana pancakes!
the girls, will help you in any way to make your stay as nice as possible.
Plus he gives great info and discounts on most of the tours and activities in Monteverde.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. There's a communal kitchen area, which has all the basics you need, WiFi and computer you can use. The breakfast is great! A variety of fruits and the choice of banana pancakes, eggs and toast. Coffee or tea are offered at any time of the day.

very fast Internet (+wifi). Hot showers in which are cleaned daily and are very comfortable and clean

Gaby was super nice and helpful with booking tours and transportation! Amazing yorle make us Breakfast was delicious! Really a great place to stay...


It's a short 2 minutes, walk to town center which has everything you need: a bakery, bank, market, and plenty of sodas and coffee shops.

I would definitely stay here again, and so should you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo60403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at the Sloth and I felt very comfortable in any activity that we planned.

Here are that we found in respect the price and quality :

- Free coffee all time

- a great breakfast

- Very friendly to explain everything that they offer.

- Very good atmosphere

- The lady in the front desk was helpful, setting up the horse back riding and water Taxi.

- And very important thing the place was clean.

For all that reasons I recommend the Sloth Backpackers !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delta_bravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#11 of 36 in Santa Elena
136 reviews
0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 36 in Santa Elena
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
#9 of 36 in Santa Elena
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel La Suerte
Hostel La Suerte
#27 of 80 in Monteverde
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Santa Elena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $14 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing