We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overall good hostel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Tucan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Tucan
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overall good hostel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at the El Tucan hostel in March 2013 and we were satisfied with our stay for what we paid. We arrived after 6pm and weren't planning to stay the night but just meet our ride there. Turns out we had to spend the night and the staff had no trouble accommodating us. It was $10/person for a mixed dorm. The rooms weren't decorated but were solid wood paneled. The beds had linen and pillows ready to go and I was quite warm and comfortable. The bathrooms were average however one almost always didn't have toilet paper. A storm rolled in the evening we stayed and had I not had my ear plugs, I probably would have been miserable since whatever sign or tin roof was just outside our window was thrashing all night. Breakfast the next morning was DIY with fruit, eggs, bread and coffee available. It was included in the price of our stay. The internet worked fine and I was even able to Skype my husband a few times without a problem. The location was excellent with yummy food joints (Taco Taco) and cafes within very easy walking distance. Its just down the hill from the bus stop and if you're up for a longer walk, you could make it to Curi-Cancha nature reserve in 45 minutes. The staff would be happy to call a taxi for you though if you prefer. I didn't use the laundry service but they offer it and I saw the staff doing laundry while we were there.

Overall, I found the El Tucan to be quaint and comfy. You are staying at a hostel, not a 5-star resort. If you come with those expectations and enjoy the cheap night stay, you'll be satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmv130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    33
    18
    34
See reviews for
4
61
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was an average hostel. The private room with a private bath was $30 or $35, the room was all wood paneling nothing great. The bathroom was clean enough but the shower head had electrical wires exposed attaching it to the ceiling which made me nervous. There are benches right outside most of the rooms and you can hear conversations through the windows (which don't close completely) at night while trying to fall asleep and in my case the next morning while someone was having a loud phone call conversation. The staff was helpful and friendly but I wasn't overly impressed with the place. We checked out 2 other hostels and not really too impressed with any of them. This town in general wasn't my favorite we stayed 2 nights and basically only stopped there for ziplining and did the night tour, both highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Tony, the owner, charged us and another couple the price for private bathrooms, which we found out at the end of our stay, and refused to refund us. There was almost never anyone at Reception, and the information they gave on tours was not always accurate. A few times he left his kids at Reception, and they either completely ignored everyone or were rude (we almost missed our bus because no one was there to take our keys, and we saw him lose many customers). Told us there was hot water when we could almost never get even a trickle of lukewarm (and it,s cold at night!). Told us it was quiet, but could hardly sleep because of the nightclub nearby. Lied about the breakfast; don;t go too late or there;s almost nothing left. Si ud. habla español, Tony le trata mejor, pero miente mucho. Don,t trust them! ¡No tengan confianza en ellos!

Room Tip: Ask other travellers what they paid first. Get private baths if you can, and avoid the front right s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igointernational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Ill start with the positive:it was only $10 person. Yeah they advertise hot showers, wifi, breakfast, etc...but these are pretty standard amenities in monteverde.

I just felt too cheap with no value. They serve folgers coffee which I just so disappointed, ya know coffee being one of costa ricas major products. The staff was kind enough to your face but just were not that helpful. They only could sell you on the specific tours that they sold. We had to go to other hostels to get any information on things to do that weren't one of their selling items. Example would be the curi cancha reserve which we really enjoyed. If you are careful and cheap then this place will work. If you want to do the most touristy things possible in monteverde then their tours may also be for you... Just be aware that they are trying to sell you more then they are trying to help you. Yeah it's family run, but not so sure that's a selling point. Kids screaming, loud cartoons on tv, and just not much connection with the employees. I got to spend time in casa tranquilo and backpackers, and I found them way more pleasant, although they are a few dollars more.

Also at the end of our stay they took our key deposit because we didn't save the receipt for 3 days which you need in addition to returning the key. I just felt no value and that they were trying to scam us. Not a good feeling to have, but we stayed it out because we were out of money and the $10 per night was low price. We appreciated the eggs and fruit in the morning and felt that as long as we keep in our own space it would be fine. And it was fine, but just fine. It's clean, beds are comfy, rooms are fine, there is a kitchen (refrigerator doesn't work well) but there are many other amazing hostels that will add to your experience and I recommend spending a few extra $ to get way more value.

If your frugal and just want to be in your own space without much interaction or connection, this place can work well for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zac F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

we stayed for two night at el tucan on 17th march, and we were greated right away from the staff who showed us a room, me and my partner got a private room for such a great price, same as the dorms, i have stayed in about 20 hostels and this room was amazing, if it was a little better it would of felt like hotel, i couldnt of asked for more.

the staff were amazing and had so much knowledge, when you arrive they give you a map and some leaflets they recommend. i wanted to do a canopy tour and they explained the difference on each one.

i went with extremo and although never dowe it before they were amazing, im scared of heights but they were amazing, i didnt do the tarzan or superman as my nerves got to me but the staff were great and even offered to do superman with me. louis was the guide and driver and i would recommend anyone to have him as a guide, very professional and a great sense of humour...goes to all the staff.

the hostel offers breakfast and as we were leaving early on out last day i expected not to get anything, but they offer breakfast from 6am...the water there is safe to drink so remember to ill up your bottles,

i will be back to this hostel is was great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexygirls7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

we had a nice stay in hostel El Tucan. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
the only thing that I would change is a warmer water in the shower. the rooms are very clean.
there was even breakfast included in the (low) price and it's super handy that there's a kitchen with all the stuff you need (like a blender, knifes, plates, ...) and a refrigiator.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms are good and clean for an ok price and breaky is acceptable too. Unfortunately, we were asked which tour we wanted to book EVERY TIME we entered the common area... And were totally ingnored (aka not even replying to our Hello) once we decided to book our tours elsewhere (for cheaper, we asked the Tucan staff to get the same price they refused)... Shame some people dont get that being on vacation and travelling / backpacking are different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#5 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Country Lodge
Monteverde Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#8 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tucan

Property: Hotel El Tucan
Address: Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Tucan is a perfect solution for travelers under a limited budget, we offer our customer very clean, comfortable and nice rooms under a very cheap cost. Cabinas El Tucan is located in Monteverde Costa Rica right on the Monteverde downtown. cabinas el tucan offer rooms with share and private bathrooms, all the bathrooms come with hotel water. Tv area, Game area, relaxing area, internet area, WIFI connection and breakfast include are a few of the great things offered by Cabinas El Tucan in Monteverde Costa Rica ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing